3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Error codes p2118 and p2110 what to do?

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2012, 03:56 PM
2005 Alaska Ram
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Error codes p2118 and p2110 what to do?

Let me preface this post with the fact that this is my first time on this forum and I am not much of a mechanic. I can crank a wrench and turn a screw but fixing vehicles is not my specialty. That said, I can follow directions. My 2005 Ram Hemi just went out of warranty, and of course now stuff is starting to go wrong. Recently, it was -30 degrees F and I started the truck to warm up before going to work. It started fine and after about 15 minutes of warming up, I went to leave and noticed it was running rough. I also noticed the ETC light flashing. Long story short, I attempted to go to work anyway and had no throttle response. All it would do was idle so I went ahead and idled the truck back to its designated spot and got a ride to work.

I was able to start it later and drive although it did give the same ETC light once and I was able to just turn the truck off and back on and drive away.

There is obviously a problem that I would like to fix before it strands me. Thanks to this forum and Pyro's error code list, I was able to use the key trick and got error codes p2118- Throttle Actuator Ctrl Motor Current Range/perf and p2110- Throttle Actuator Ctrl Sys-Forced Limited Power.

These are obviously related to the throttle. Do I need to replace/clean the Throttle Body or do I need to just replace/clean one of the sensors? My research on this forum makes those projects look pretty doable even for me.

Thanks in advance for any and all assistance.
Scott

Old 01-22-2012, 04:17 PM
Denniss66
Veteran