Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Low oil pressure after switch to royal purple?

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-28-2012, 08:40 PM
Matt6869 Matt6869 is offline
Amateur
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 30
Default Low oil pressure after switch to royal purple?

have an 06 megacab, previous owner always took it to the dealer for oil changes. Decided I'd make to switch to a synthetic so went ahead and went with rp 5w20 and everything was good for the first bit, but now the oil pressure drops frequently. oil level is up, no leaks at all, so not sure what the issue is here
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2012, 09:10 PM
p38251 p38251 is offline
All Star
2012 RAM 2500
My Garage
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 2500HD Crew Cab 6.7
Location: Vanderpool Texas
Posts: 797
Default

Unless its an MDS engine pretty sure you should use 5-30. my 04 requires 5-30.
__________________
12 Ram 2500HD Crew Cab 6.7 Cummins. 305/70/17 Nitto Terra Grapplers. 0-2.5 Bilstein shocks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2012, 09:11 PM
drewactual's Avatar
drewactual drewactual is offline
Champion
2002 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Vehicle: '02 1500 5.9L Magnum
Location: Cape Carteret NC
Posts: 2,694
Default

Clean your pick up screen..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2012, 08:14 AM
Gone Fishin Gone Fishin is offline
Record Breaker
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Vehicle: 2005 2500, 6spd 4x4, 2005 Dodge 3500 Dually, 5.9, NV5600 6spd
Location: Bristol, IN
Posts: 2,134
same
Default

Chances are you switched all at once, on a engine that had dino oil in it all its life, and the full syn cleaned all the deposits of the internal surfaces all at once, now they're in your oil pan, clogging the oil pickup, as mentioned above. Only remedy is to drain it, pull the pan and clean it out.

You wouldn't be the first person this has happened to, a gradual change over with very short drain cycles, substituting quarts of syn for dino quarts each oil change, so the deposits are gradually desolved
__________________
2005 Dodge Ram SLT 3500 Dually, 5.9 Cummins, 6sp NV5600, 11.5" LSD 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2012, 03:48 PM
HammerZ71's Avatar
HammerZ71 HammerZ71 is offline
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Vehicle: 2014 2500 CTD 4x4
Location: South Georgia/East Florida
Posts: 23,857
Default

It's fairly common when switching to a synthetic that it will carry ALL the sludge that is in the system from conventional oil right to the screen and clog it. The problem is that the synthetic actually works TOO WELL in loosening the crud and it overcomes the screen.

I usually do the first change in an engine with over say 50k in conventional oil use with a blend first so as not to clean all the crud all at once. I've never read any concrete evidence that doing a one time blend to ease into synthetic is beneficial, just something I've always done.

I'm with drew on this - clean the screen...
__________________

Photo homage of my beloved old truck. Sold 8/2014
New ride: 2014 2500 CTD 4X4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2012, 09:42 AM
Dead2Fall's Avatar
Dead2Fall Dead2Fall is offline
Captain
2004 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Vehicle: 04' 4x4 1500 QC 5.7L
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 524
Default

I bought 5w20 once by accident and decided to just go ahead and use it. Saw a slight decrease in pressure, nothing major though. Needle sat at like 11:55 vs 12:05 with the 5w30
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-30-2012, 10:32 AM
jleonard's Avatar
jleonard jleonard is offline
Professional
2005 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Vehicle: 2005 Ram 1500 5.7 Thunder Road pkg
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 134
Default

These trucks call for 5w20. Why would it be a problem? Ive been running this wt Mobil 1 since the trucks first oil change. Still use it at 114,000 miles, no problems. Mine is an 05 if that makes a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-30-2012, 11:52 AM
HammerZ71's Avatar
HammerZ71 HammerZ71 is offline
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Vehicle: 2014 2500 CTD 4x4
Location: South Georgia/East Florida
Posts: 23,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jleonard View Post
These trucks call for 5w20. Why would it be a problem? Ive been running this wt Mobil 1 since the trucks first oil change. Still use it at 114,000 miles, no problems. Mine is an 05 if that makes a difference.
'03 & '04 called for 5w-30 when they were introduced. The '05 (which is identical to the '04 except PCM/Tranny tuning) called for 5w-20. Even dealers now use the Chrysler recommended 5w-20 in '03s and '04s.

In non-MDS (pre-'06 & 2500/3500) Hemi engines I see no problem using either 5w-20 or 5w-30. MDS is however very specific to 5w-20 oil...
__________________

Photo homage of my beloved old truck. Sold 8/2014
New ride: 2014 2500 CTD 4X4
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2012, 09:49 PM
Wanderer Wanderer is offline
Veteran
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Vehicle: 2004 RCSB 4X4
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 387
Default

Switched to synthetic at 6000 miles and used 5w30. At about 40K went to 5w20 in the winter and never went back. I feel it reduced the tic abit, but the bonus was that I went from being low a quart at the next change to lossing almost none. At 90K still does not use any oil (ok a little on the stick). If the pressure drop is nornally at idle, put a mechanical gauge on it to ensure it is not the sender, connector or gauge.
__________________
The Wanderer
2004 RC 4X4
Yeah, It's got a Hemi
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-30-2012, 10:28 PM
weedahoe's Avatar
weedahoe weedahoe is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 04 Dodge Ram QC
Location: South GA
Posts: 18,780
TrickedOut DodgeRam Weedahoe1977
Send a message via AIM to weedahoe Send a message via MSN to weedahoe Send a message via Yahoo to weedahoe
Default

I run RP in my 04 5.7 and still do to this day. Never an issue. My thoughts, replace the oil pressure sensor. Its cheap, easy, quick and several threads on the site with guys having the same issues
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 10:28 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:32 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails