Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Changed plugs after going bad, drives great, turned on AC, plugs go bad again?

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-18-2013, 08:11 AM
bribri's Avatar
bribri bribri is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Default Changed plugs after going bad, drives great, turned on AC, plugs go bad again?

06 1500 V6 single cab

Driving down the road 2 days ago. I turn on AC. Later engine light comes on. Truck shakes. I turn everything off and check fluids. It throws cylinder 2 misfire code.

I change all 6 plugs.

Drives great.

I drive about 50 miles on it and turn on the Air conditioner. As soon as I do so the engine light comes on and it goes back to shaking intermittently while driving down the road and bogging down real bad again just like before I changed the plugs.

This gets me to remember that it also happened when I turned the AC on the first time but it wasn't important in my mind the first time.

So I am wondering what is going on. I will try to provide all the information I can.
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2013, 08:30 AM
Izero Izero is offline
Champion
2008 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,386
Default

Few Questions:

What type of plugs are you using? (Copper, Platinum, etc?)

What Gap did you set the plug to?

How many miles on truck?

Is it still Cylinder #2 that is misfiring?
__________________
2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4

Need Help? Read This First
MECP Certified Technician
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2013, 08:49 AM
bribri's Avatar
bribri bribri is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Did not gap it so the plugs are set to the default they came out of the box at. I didn't have a gapping tool. My brother changed his plugs a few months ago without setting the gap on his plugs and he has the same year but with a V8 so I didn't think much about it.

I bought the Bosch Platinum 2 plugs

90k

I cant tell which cylinder it is this time. The last time I was able to get the code through the ignition method although it took a few tries. This time it won't give me a code. I have tried over 2 dozen times trying to make it give me the code.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2013, 09:47 AM
gcburkett gcburkett is offline
Veteran
2001 Dodge Stratus
My Garage
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Vehicle: 2005 Ram 2500 Quad Cab 5.7 Hemi
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 363
Default

Get the code if it shows the same cylinder it best to try a different COP to see if it resolves the problem. Not sure how the A/C is affect it though except for how close it is to it or the wiring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2013, 09:55 AM
dodge dude94 dodge dude94 is offline
Banned
1998 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 1998 Ram 1500 QCSB 360 4x4
Location: East Texas
Posts: 8,923
Default

Keep the A/C off, and reset the computer. See what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-18-2013, 12:42 PM
Izero Izero is offline
Champion
2008 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,386
Default

You've done two things wrong.

1) You did not Gap your plugs... consult your owners manual for correct gap.

2) You used Platinum Plugs... Many Dodge vehicles do not respond well to Platinum plugs.

Get Copper Plugs Gap them correctly, remove the platinum garbage and install your copper plugs. Don't forget some dielectric grease on the wire connection part of the plug, and some anti-seize on the threads.

If the problem comes back then swap the coil from the misfiring cylinder with another "good" coil from another cylinder, if the problem stays at the original cylinder then you know you have a bigger problem, if it carries to the new cylinder then you have a bad coil.

Let us know how you make out.

Oh and Gapping Tools are like $5 at the autoparts store, so no excuse not to have one.
__________________
2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4

Need Help? Read This First
MECP Certified Technician
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-18-2013, 02:07 PM
bribri's Avatar
bribri bribri is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Got the code, same cylinder. I will purchase a plug gapper and find the correct gap for it and do that.

Right now it seems like all cylinders are running after I had to drive it to the store AND that's while the AC was on. I will look into getting Copper plugs as well when I am near a walmart. That will likely also be when I pick up the gapper.

I appreciate all of the information so far. Hopefully this will correct it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-18-2013, 02:13 PM
Izero Izero is offline
Champion
2008 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bribri View Post
Got the code, same cylinder. I will purchase a plug gapper and find the correct gap for it and do that.

Right now it seems like all cylinders are running after I had to drive it to the store AND that's while the AC was on. I will look into getting Copper plugs as well when I am near a walmart. That will likely also be when I pick up the gapper.

I appreciate all of the information so far. Hopefully this will correct it.

No problem.

Sometimes if you over tighten them you can close the gap by mistake so pull that cylinder first and check it out...
__________________
2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4

Need Help? Read This First
MECP Certified Technician
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2013, 10:10 PM
Old man with a Hemi2 Old man with a Hemi2 is offline
Veteran
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Vehicle: 2006 Hemi Ram Sport
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Izero View Post
No problem.

Sometimes if you over tighten them you can close the gap by mistake so pull that cylinder first and check it out...

The only way I see to change the gap by over tightening them, is if they are hitting the top of the piston, and then you really have a problem. If you know another way, please let us know how it occurs
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-18-2013, 10:14 PM
dodge dude94 dodge dude94 is offline
Banned
1998 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 1998 Ram 1500 QCSB 360 4x4
Location: East Texas
Posts: 8,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old man with a Hemi2 View Post
The only way I see to change the gap by over tightening them, is if they are hitting the top of the piston, and then you really have a problem. If you know another way, please let us know how it occurs
Supposedly you can torque the body of the plug just enough to change the gap and make it do funny things. Dunno, never had an issue.

Snug -> another 1/4-1/2 turn of the ratchet works for me.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:14 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:15 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails