Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

lifter noise

Old 04-21-2006, 05:57 PM
3.0van97
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lifter noise

I'm hearing a lot of lifter noise in my 97 3.0. I heard that the hydraulic lifters can drain if there isn't enough oil, and are noisy until they refill. Is this true? Would too much or too little oil or dirty/old oil cause this?

Old 04-23-2006, 12:18 AM
3.0van97
Default RE: lifter noise

I was doing a little searching and read there was a TSB for a similar noise on these vans. Anyone have the link? something about shimming the rocker shafts .... Anyone have success with it?

Old 04-25-2006, 10:37 AM
3.0van97

I hate posting so many times on this thread but does anyone have any info/suggestions at all? I'd really appreciate some feedback, as it's kinda worrying me. I'm relatively new to the Caravan/Voyager and don't know the engine all that well....

See my other post Squeal/loosing coolant to please!

Old 04-25-2006, 05:07 PM
Shirako

I have a 90 GC, the 3.3L and I have the same trouble, i'm the second owner of it and the first said he had it fixed shortly after he got it(it probablt came back with age), though I'm not gonna pay someone to do anything as it hasnt caused a problem yet, I have tried all kinds of additives but nothing has worked so far, next im going to try the thickest oil I can find and see what that does.

Old 04-25-2006, 06:18 PM
webbee
Professional

Usually lifter noise is because of crud in the lifter. I always run my motors with Marvel Mystery Oil which keeps the crud out and the lifter performing like it was designed. If your using synthetic oil it should do the same thing as MMO. If it was oil starvation then it will pump up quite quickly as it is run.

Old 04-25-2006, 07:06 PM
3.0van97