How to reset check engine light - DodgeForum.com



4th Gen Ram Tech 2009+ and up Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2009 and up Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

     
Old 08-06-2015, 03:56 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
 
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Electrical System
Print Wikipost

How to reset check engine light

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 06-09-2010, 11:02 PM
bigdbentley
bigdbentley is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: EDMONTON
Posts: 4
Default How to reset check engine light

Hey,

I am new to this site and I have a 2009 dodge ram slt crew cab. I was at the drive in, watched 2 movies, started up the truck all warning lights came on, probably due to electrical draw. Temp light, electrical light, temp guage and check engone light were on or not working. Drove the truck home, and craeted a charge, shut vehicle off and restarted. Everything was back to normal, other then check engine light still on.
Wondering if anyone knows how to reset this other then going to dealer as they will charge to reset it I am sure, lol.
And this would be good info to know for future reference
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2010, 11:15 PM
BigBlueEdge's Avatar
BigBlueEdge
BigBlueEdge is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 1,376
Default

Unplug the negative battery cable from the battery for a few minutes (beware, I've heard some models of radio can be damaged if you don't remove the radio fuse before reconnecting the battery - why that is I have no idea). Or go to an auto parts store where they let you borrow a code reader tool. Hook it up and read the code, then use the tool to clear the code. O'Reilly has always been good about loaning tools like this. Napa too.

Rob
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2010, 11:37 PM
72combo's Avatar
72combo
72combo is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,563
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlueEdge View Post
Unplug the negative battery cable from the battery for a few minutes (beware, I've heard some models of radio can be damaged if you don't remove the radio fuse before reconnecting the battery - why that is I have no idea). Or go to an auto parts store where they let you borrow a code reader tool. Hook it up and read the code, then use the tool to clear the code. O'Reilly has always been good about loaning tools like this. Napa too.

Rob
It is a TSB for the battery and radio and its the REN radio.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2010, 11:49 PM
BigBlueEdge's Avatar
BigBlueEdge
BigBlueEdge is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 1,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 72combo View Post
It is a TSB for the battery and radio and its the REN radio.
Wonder if that applies to the newer RBZ radios too (MyGig 430 without Nav)?

Rob
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dael
3rd Gen Ram Tech
6
06-18-2016 11:49 PM
95Ram2500v10
2nd Gen Ram Tech
5
02-01-2016 12:09 AM
90vnt
3rd Gen Dakota
1
07-07-2015 09:34 PM
huffp2
3rd Gen Ram Tech
0
07-07-2015 01:13 AM
Sparky86
2nd Gen Ram Tech
2
07-06-2015 02:12 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:17 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send