Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 4th Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


4th Gen Ram Tech 2009+ and up Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2009 and up Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Speedometer Calibrator

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-08-2012, 09:52 AM
2011HemiSport 2011HemiSport is offline
Rookie
2011 RAM 1500
 
Join Date: May 2011
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500 Crew Sport
Location: Maine
Posts: 66
josephcmiro
Default Speedometer Calibrator

Since Diablo does not offer a tuner for my 2011 Ram I have no way to adjust the tire size other than Hypertech's Speedo Calibrator. If I buy the Hypertech's to calibrate the 35" tires - will it mess with the Diablo tuner if I buy one when it comes out?
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
__________________

2011 Ram 1500 Sport Crew w/ 5.7L Hemi, 4" BDS Lift, 35" Toyo M/T's, 20" Moto Metal 951s, Bushwhacker Flares, Undercover Tonneau, Diablo Trinity, Mopar CAI, 87mm TB, JBA Headers, Dual DMH Cutouts w/ X-Pipe, Corsa Dual Exhaust
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2012, 10:30 AM
Hypertech Support Hypertech Support is offline
Amateur
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 43
Default

If you decide to switch to a different product in the future you simply return thr Hypertech unit to stock which will restore the factory stock files to the vehicle and will have no effect on the other product.

GW
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2012, 12:06 AM
LU229 LU229 is offline
Banned
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hypertech Support View Post
If you decide to switch to a different product in the future you simply return thr Hypertech unit to stock which will restore the factory stock files to the vehicle and will have no effect on the other product.

GW
I could be wrong here, but i think you may have missed his point.... what it sounds like to me is, he wants to buy the diablo, then keep a diablo tune into his truck at the same time while he plugs in the hypertech to change ONLY his tire calibration without loosing his diablo tune. Of course this will only count if diablo comes out with a capable tuner for 11 on up trucks. My own personal opinion, SUPERCHIPS...!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:10 AM
Hypertech Support Hypertech Support is offline
Amateur
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 43
Default Hypertech Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by LU229 View Post
I could be wrong here, but i think you may have missed his point.... what it sounds like to me is, he wants to buy the diablo, then keep a diablo tune into his truck at the same time while he plugs in the hypertech to change ONLY his tire calibration without loosing his diablo tune. Of course this will only count if diablo comes out with a capable tuner for 11 on up trucks. My own personal opinion, SUPERCHIPS...!!!!
Perhaps I read it wrong then ***Thought he commented that Diablo Does Not have anything out yet.
Even if and when they do come out with a tuning product the speedometer calibrator from Hypertech will not stop him from loading a tune from another vendor,being Diablo or your selection of choice and can be either left in the vehicle to correct tire size or removed (his choice)


Thanks,

GW
Hypertech Inc
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2012, 10:31 PM
2011HemiSport 2011HemiSport is offline
Rookie
2011 RAM 1500
 
Join Date: May 2011
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500 Crew Sport
Location: Maine
Posts: 66
josephcmiro
Default

If and when Hypertech releases a tune for my truck, will it give me the option to disable the MDS? That is one of my main objectives for buying a performance tuner.
__________________

2011 Ram 1500 Sport Crew w/ 5.7L Hemi, 4" BDS Lift, 35" Toyo M/T's, 20" Moto Metal 951s, Bushwhacker Flares, Undercover Tonneau, Diablo Trinity, Mopar CAI, 87mm TB, JBA Headers, Dual DMH Cutouts w/ X-Pipe, Corsa Dual Exhaust
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2012, 12:50 AM
LU229 LU229 is offline
Banned
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2011HemiSport View Post
If and when Hypertech releases a tune for my truck, will it give me the option to disable the MDS? That is one of my main objectives for buying a performance tuner.
2011HemiSport...
According to the HYPERTECH website, the earlier hypertech models DID disable the MDS for 2010 on back. Anyones guess when they`ll crack the codes for 11 up hemi`s though. Seems like to me if it were going to happen, it would have long before now... here we are looking at 2013 trucks and the tuner companys are STILL locked out. I think chrysler found a real good encryption system to keep everybody out of those computors. Personally, i think its a bad idea to lock them out. (ford and chevy arent locked out that i know of as of yet for 2013) Anyhow..... If the MDS really bothers you, you can always drop it into 5th gear, that will shut the MDS feature completely off. Whenever i`m doing any city driving i always drop into 5th gear to shut that crap MDS off. The MDS is very annoying to say the least in city traffic. If and when they crack the codes for the 11 up hemi trucks, you may want to research the SUPERCHIPS tuner.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 12:50 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:16 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2