Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 4th Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


4th Gen Ram Tech 2009+ and up Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2009 and up Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2013 Ram Radio's Please Read

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-26-2012, 03:40 PM
DodgeCares's Avatar
DodgeCares DodgeCares is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mopar HQ
Posts: 1,680
Default 2013 Ram Radio's Please Read

All,

The new radio units are being phased in beginning with the 2013 Rams. I am posting this TSB in the hopes that people will understand that you will not be able to switch radios on these trucks. I do not have any information about aftermarket and do not know what effects these changes implemented will have on aftermarket availability but I just wanted everyone to be sure to understand how the new units will work and to get what you want upon purchase instead of counting on a change later. NAV can be added to the RA3 units.

NUMBER: 08-056-12
GROUP: Electrical
DATE: October 12, 2012


SUBJECT:
Information On New Radio Systems: Sales Code RA1, RA2, RA3, or RA4
MODELS:
2013 (DS) Ram 1500 Pickup
NOTE: This bulletin pertains to vehicles that are equipped with, UCONNECT 3.0
AM/FM (sales code RA1) or UCONNECT 5.0 AM/FM/BT (sales code RA2) or
UCONNECT 8.4A AM/FM/BT/ACCESS (sales code RA3) or UCONNECT 8.4AN
AM/FM/BT/ACCESS/NAV (sales code RA4).
DISCUSSION:
The new Ram 1500 pickup truck has new radios with unique features.
· The electrical architecture has changed. The communication system/wiring is
modeled after the Powernet architecture. Unlike the other Powernet vehicles the
audio screen is part of the radio.
· The 911 call button will be enabled when the vehicle is put into Customer Mode, or
after the vehicle has been driven approximately 50 miles.
NOTE: To get the vehicle out of ship mode, please refer to TechCONNECT, 04 -
Vehicle Quick Reference/New Vehicle Preparation
Instructions/Standard Procedure.
· If the vehicle has an RA1 radio, it Can Not be upgraded to include Bluetooth/Hands
Free functionality. NO Mopar accessory kits are planned at this time.
NOTE: None of the RA1, RA2, RA3, or RA4 radios are interchangeable with
each other. If the vehicle came with an RA1, radio, you can NOT install
an RA2, RA3 or RA4 radio. If the vehicle came with an RA4 radio, you
can NOT install an RA1, RA2 or RA3 radio and so on.
· Customers are able to purchase different Apps for these radio. If the radio is
replaced the Apps that the customer has purchased will take approximately one hour
of continuous ignition on time, with proper cellular coverage, before the Apps reload.
The vehicle can be returned to the customer before the purchased Apps have
reloaded. Advise the customer of the conditions that have to be met for the Apps to
reload.
· RA1, RA2, RA3 and RA4 radios will be on a parts restriction until 05-06-13.
· CD players will be on a parts restriction until 05-06-13.
· The radio sales code is no longer on the front of the radio. To identify an RA4 from a RA3 radio, the RA4 radio has 3D Navigation, and a “HD” symbol will be displayed on
the screen, see . To identify an RA1 from a RA2 radio, the RA2 radio will
have a phone button on the lower left hand corner of screen, see.
· RA3 radio is the only one that can be upgraded to include a Navigation feature. The
system will have to be activated by the dealer.
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
__________________
Regina

U.S. Top Care
Chrysler Group LLC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2012, 04:30 PM
DodgeCares's Avatar
DodgeCares DodgeCares is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mopar HQ
Posts: 1,680
Default

New features can be found here.

http://www.driveuconnect.com/features/uconnect_access/
__________________
Regina

U.S. Top Care
Chrysler Group LLC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2012, 05:00 PM
LVRR LVRR is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 2009 CC 4x4 Hemi
Location: Northern California
Posts: 238
Default

Very interesting and very singular.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2012, 02:37 AM
bigolyt bigolyt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Default

I picked up my 2013 Ram 2 weeks ago, it has the 8.4a (R3)

Long story short, the dealer I bought it from had NO clue how to get the NAV working... I found the TS file on the internet and sent it to my local dealer (not where I bought mine) They ended up doing the NAV activation for free.. ( I got lucky, I've heard its anywhere between $600-$1200 to activate)

The NAV is awesome, SiriusXM is great... I'm not missing the 3D maps, or the HD Radio, so it wasnt worth the hassel to get the R4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-2012, 08:38 AM
DodgeCares's Avatar
DodgeCares DodgeCares is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mopar HQ
Posts: 1,680
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigolyt View Post
I picked up my 2013 Ram 2 weeks ago, it has the 8.4a (R3)

Long story short, the dealer I bought it from had NO clue how to get the NAV working... I found the TS file on the internet and sent it to my local dealer (not where I bought mine) They ended up doing the NAV activation for free.. ( I got lucky, I've heard its anywhere between $600-$1200 to activate)

The NAV is awesome, SiriusXM is great... I'm not missing the 3D maps, or the HD Radio, so it wasnt worth the hassel to get the R4

I have posted the TSB on how to upgrade the RA3 to include Navigation on other threads but I should post it here as well. Chrysler has posted this information for the dealers but I am sure it will take some time for all the dealers to become informed on these new units. If the dealer looks up the TSB below it gives them step by step instructions on how this procedure is done. Glad you were able to get yours for free!!!

NUMBER: 08-031-12
GROUP: Electrical
DATE: October 17, 2012



SUBJECT:
How To Activate The Navigation Maps On A RA3 Radio
MODELS:
2013 (DS) Ram 1500 Pickup
NOTE: This Service Bulletin applies to vehicles equipped with a UCONNECT 8.4A
AM/FM/BT/ACCESS (sales code RA3).
CAUTION: The only vehicles that can be upgraded to include a navigation system
are ones that have an RA3 radio.
DISCUSSION:
Offering a radio that has navigation capability that can be optionally activated for additional
cost is something new. This allows all Uconnect 8.4A (sales code RA3) customers to enjoy
the benefits of the high line 8.4 inch screen at a low entry level price. Only the customers
that wish to activate the navigation feature will pay the extra fee.
CAUTION: The customer needs to be notified, and clearly understand once this
system is activated it can NOT be deactivated and this feature can NOT
be transferred to another vehicle. When the feature is activated it's
“non-refundable, irreversible, and permanently attached to the VEHICLE
(not the customer) for the life of the vehicle.”
__________________
Regina

U.S. Top Care
Chrysler Group LLC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-2012, 08:21 AM
bigolyt bigolyt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Exactly what we had to do....

You wouldn't happen to know the part number to add the parkview rear view backup camera's would you? Uconnect features say its available, but my dealer says its not (still new to them I'm assuming, so they don't know). A part no. would do wonders for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DodgeCares View Post
I have posted the TSB on how to upgrade the RA3 to include Navigation on other threads but I should post it here as well. Chrysler has posted this information for the dealers but I am sure it will take some time for all the dealers to become informed on these new units. If the dealer looks up the TSB below it gives them step by step instructions on how this procedure is done. Glad you were able to get yours for free!!!

NUMBER: 08-031-12
GROUP: Electrical
DATE: October 17, 2012



SUBJECT:
How To Activate The Navigation Maps On A RA3 Radio
MODELS:
2013 (DS) Ram 1500 Pickup
NOTE: This Service Bulletin applies to vehicles equipped with a UCONNECT 8.4A
AM/FM/BT/ACCESS (sales code RA3).
CAUTION: The only vehicles that can be upgraded to include a navigation system
are ones that have an RA3 radio.
DISCUSSION:
Offering a radio that has navigation capability that can be optionally activated for additional
cost is something new. This allows all Uconnect 8.4A (sales code RA3) customers to enjoy
the benefits of the high line 8.4 inch screen at a low entry level price. Only the customers
that wish to activate the navigation feature will pay the extra fee.
CAUTION: The customer needs to be notified, and clearly understand once this
system is activated it can NOT be deactivated and this feature can NOT
be transferred to another vehicle. When the feature is activated it's
“non-refundable, irreversible, and permanently attached to the VEHICLE
(not the customer) for the life of the vehicle.”
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-04-2012, 09:37 AM
DodgeCares's Avatar
DodgeCares DodgeCares is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mopar HQ
Posts: 1,680
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigolyt View Post
Exactly what we had to do....

You wouldn't happen to know the part number to add the parkview rear view backup camera's would you? Uconnect features say its available, but my dealer says its not (still new to them I'm assuming, so they don't know). A part no. would do wonders for me.

I have inquired about the backup camera. It could be the part is available and I will get the number, the part will become available but has not been released yet for this new radio, or that the camera is available but only from the factory. I will find out and let you know.
__________________
Regina

U.S. Top Care
Chrysler Group LLC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-04-2012, 10:11 AM
Nate769 Nate769 is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Vehicle: 2012 3500 Cummins
Location: Alberta
Posts: 824
Default

Not to burst your bubble or anything, but even tho dodge is making it hard to "change radios" its not going to HALT the aftermarket world. Guys like Pac-Audio have full time crews devoted to giving you adapter options so you can install any deck you want. This is what most people thought, with those vehicles that have the VIN stored in the deck and it won't move without it. Pac designed an adapter that allows people to do it anyways. Also with today's digital world, its gonna make it easier for guys like pac to develop something. Might take time, but I am sure they will let you know.

The only thing is warranty! You will have none....ha
__________________
Nate, 2012 3500 Cummins-Laramie Loaded. Beige Interior, Molton red. Full DPF/EGR Delete, with 4" Turboback exhaust, H&S Minimax tuner.

Previous....2011 1500 Sport, 2007 1500 Laramie
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-04-2012, 12:08 PM
bigolyt bigolyt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Default

I already have a license plate frame camera hooked up (by the dealer) but wanted the parkview in the tailgate. So I know its possible to get something done after market.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate769 View Post
Not to burst your bubble or anything, but even tho dodge is making it hard to "change radios" its not going to HALT the aftermarket world. Guys like Pac-Audio have full time crews devoted to giving you adapter options so you can install any deck you want. This is what most people thought, with those vehicles that have the VIN stored in the deck and it won't move without it. Pac designed an adapter that allows people to do it anyways. Also with today's digital world, its gonna make it easier for guys like pac to develop something. Might take time, but I am sure they will let you know.

The only thing is warranty! You will have none....ha
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-24-2013, 11:55 PM
Billybobs Billybobs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 BigHorn, 2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
Posts: 14
Default Waiting Patiently

About to buy 2013 Ram 1500 with 8.4a and NO BACKUP CAMERA... don't want or need Nav, but really want to add backup camera. I will wait (patiently) for details. Hopefully eventually it will come.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 11:55 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:14 PM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails