Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 4th Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


4th Gen Ram Tech 2009+ and up Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2009 and up Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2013 Ram 1500 Bighorn Bug Report

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-15-2013, 10:23 AM
HKS's Avatar
HKS HKS is offline
Amateur
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 38
Default 2013 Ram 1500 Bighorn Bug Report

1-I was getting repeated service engine light coming on. dealer scolded me for not tightening gas cap. Next visit they replaced the RAM gas cap with an aftermarket version. I really would like Dodge to get me a working original gas cap.

2 Spent $595.00 to have the GPS activated. Bad choice. It had no idea where we were in IOWA in several places. One time the GPS locked up the entire radio. The only solution was the stop the truck and turn engine off. Exit vehicle and then restart all. Shutting radio off did not clear the locked up radio.

I realize that with all the electronics in the RAM there are bound to be bugs to be ironed out. I hope there is an update coming soon.

HKS

Hemi, 3.92 Diff, 8 Speed Transmission Big Horn Crew Cab
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!

Last edited by HKS; 05-15-2013 at 10:26 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2013, 10:51 PM
TNtech's Avatar
TNtech TNtech is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nashville, Tennessee
Posts: 2,015
SKMC69
Default

I ran into a couple 2013s that would set a small leak DTC that would never "mature" which means it always said the DTC was "pending". This, of course makes the GAS CAP light come on. Never could find a leak and everything checked out so I assumed it was a logic issue of some kind. The data on the tank pressure sensor was suspect IMO. One of them was a traveler and the other never returned to leave it with us, so I did not get an answer about the issue. I was going to put a sensor on one of them and assess it after. I did fix another 2013 passenger car with a sensor that had the same problem.

The NAV lockup isn't just on the trucks. Last I heard there was an update being developed.
__________________
CHRYSLER-JEEP-DODGE-RAM
Master Technician
Electrical & Drivability


My Other Hobby
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2013, 08:00 AM
DodgeCares's Avatar
DodgeCares DodgeCares is offline
Record Breaker
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mopar HQ
Posts: 1,669
Default

Below is the latest TSB on the RA3-RA4 radio lockup and Nav issues.



NUMBER: 08-026-13
GROUP: Electrical
DATE: April 27, 2013


SUBJECT:
RA3 And RA4 Radio Enhancements
OVERVIEW:
This bulletin involves upgrading the software on the RA3 or RA4 Radio.
MODELS:
2013 (DS) 1500 Ram Pickup (U.S. only)
NOTE: This bulletin applies to vehicles sold in the U.S. market and built before
February 22, 2013 (MDH 0222XX) equipped with SMART TOUCH 3
AM/FM/SAT/BT/VOICE (sales code RA3) or SMART TOUCH 4
AM/FM/SAT/BT/NAV/VOICE (sales code RA4).
SYMPTOM/CONDITION:
A customer may experience, one or more of the following conditions:
Loss of the vehicle position on the navigation map.
Vehicles Icon changes on the navigation map.
Compass direction maybe incorrect.
Touch screen turns off, shuts down
__________________
Regina

U.S. Top Care
Chrysler Group LLC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2013, 02:24 PM
HKS's Avatar
HKS HKS is offline
Amateur
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 38
Default Thanks Very Much For the Quick Response

dodgeforum.com is the best. The other site is a nightmare to wade through.

HKS

Quote:
Originally Posted by DodgeCares View Post
Below is the latest TSB on the RA3-RA4 radio lockup and Nav issues.



NUMBER: 08-026-13
GROUP: Electrical
DATE: April 27, 2013

SUBJECT:
RA3 And RA4 Radio Enhancements
OVERVIEW:
This bulletin involves upgrading the software on the RA3 or RA4 Radio.
MODELS:
2013 (DS) 1500 Ram Pickup (U.S. only)
NOTE: This bulletin applies to vehicles sold in the U.S. market and built before
February 22, 2013 (MDH 0222XX) equipped with SMART TOUCH 3
AM/FM/SAT/BT/VOICE (sales code RA3) or SMART TOUCH 4
AM/FM/SAT/BT/NAV/VOICE (sales code RA4).
SYMPTOM/CONDITION:
A customer may experience, one or more of the following conditions:
Loss of the vehicle position on the navigation map.
Vehicles Icon changes on the navigation map.
Compass direction maybe incorrect.
Touch screen turns off, shuts down
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2013, 04:58 PM
HKS's Avatar
HKS HKS is offline
Amateur
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 38
Default 2013 Ram Bighorn GPS Update

Purchased the truck on 4-13-2013. I was assured it had the latest updates. It most likely did not have the Feb 22 update. Dealer said the update came out the next day after they fixed the gas cap issue (in April). So, was there a later update or was I getting an bunch of BS.

With a lot of brand new computer software you get updates right away. I have to assume the dealer did not check for updates at the time of sale or at time of recent service. I am getting used to incompetent service from the Lincoln NE dealership.

HKS

So, was there another RA3 RA4 GPS Radio update in April?



Quote:
Originally Posted by DodgeCares View Post
Below is the latest TSB on the RA3-RA4 radio lockup and Nav issues.



NUMBER: 08-026-13
GROUP: Electrical
DATE: April 27, 2013



SUBJECT:
RA3 And RA4 Radio Enhancements
OVERVIEW:
This bulletin involves upgrading the software on the RA3 or RA4 Radio.
MODELS:
2013 (DS) 1500 Ram Pickup (U.S. only)
NOTE: This bulletin applies to vehicles sold in the U.S. market and built before
February 22, 2013 (MDH 0222XX) equipped with SMART TOUCH 3
AM/FM/SAT/BT/VOICE (sales code RA3) or SMART TOUCH 4
AM/FM/SAT/BT/NAV/VOICE (sales code RA4).
SYMPTOM/CONDITION:
A customer may experience, one or more of the following conditions:
Loss of the vehicle position on the navigation map.
Vehicles Icon changes on the navigation map.
Compass direction maybe incorrect.
Touch screen turns off, shuts down
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2013, 01:44 PM
TNtech's Avatar
TNtech TNtech is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nashville, Tennessee
Posts: 2,015
SKMC69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HKS View Post

With a lot of brand new computer software you get updates right away. I have to assume the dealer did not check for updates at the time of sale or at time of recent service.
The majority of updates will come after the fact...if there is a widespread issue showing itself. It's not as simple as finding it while in assembly. There is no way they can prepare for every possible issue up front.

Machines and computers.....
__________________
CHRYSLER-JEEP-DODGE-RAM
Master Technician
Electrical & Drivability


My Other Hobby
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2013, 07:48 PM
HKS's Avatar
HKS HKS is offline
Amateur
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 38
Default Uconnect not working says "loading" forever

After fixing the GPS with an update, now the Uconnect does not work. It just says "loading" forever. I was planning a long vacation and I wanted the WIFI Hot spot to work (planning on purchasing the app for 30 days). It used to work.

I can't find the uconnect store web page. Typical software update issues.

I was wondering if the dealer checked the Uconnect after updating the GPS.
HKS
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-20-2013, 07:31 AM
DodgeCares's Avatar
DodgeCares DodgeCares is offline
Record Breaker
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mopar HQ
Posts: 1,669
Default

There was not another update in April of 2013. The latest version is 13.10.06
__________________
Regina

U.S. Top Care
Chrysler Group LLC
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-20-2013, 09:33 AM
HKS's Avatar
HKS HKS is offline
Amateur
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 38
Default Bad GPS update wipes out Uconnect

I was on the phone (40min) on hold for 15 minutes. Went o the vehicle and followed the Dodge operators instructions. She finally determined it was a bad GPS update that wiped out the Uconnect function. The Dodge dealer is trying to squeeze me in during the lunch hour today. Dodge HQ gave a ticket number with a response in 5 days. I suspect any update affects the entire 8.4" center console display. I am going on a trip in 2 days when I need Uconnect. After that I could care less.

My advice is do not activate GPS $595 in the first place. It is an incomplete piece of junk. Or wait a year for Fiat engineers to get the bugs out of the software.
HKS

P.S. The lady at Dodge customer service needs to throw that cheap phone of hers in the trash. Audio sounded like mush.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DodgeCares View Post
There was not another update in April of 2013. The latest version is 13.10.06

Last edited by HKS; 05-20-2013 at 09:39 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-20-2013, 04:17 PM
HKS's Avatar
HKS HKS is offline
Amateur
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 38
Default Thread Location Of 2013 Bug Report

Why is it that I can only locate this thread by doing an advanced search under my HKS? Is the tread hidden from view to others?

I should be able to find it under "4th Gen Ram Tech".


HKS
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 04:17 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:55 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails