help! - DodgeForum.com



4th Gen Ram Tech 2009+ and up Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2009 and up Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

help!

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 07-12-2014, 11:10 PM
cansasky
cansasky is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
Default help!

just picked up a 2011 ram about a month ago.. today i was running home to grab some tools, pulled up to the garage, shut it off and when i got back in it wouldn't start, the etc light is on the dash, it will not even attempt to turn over, i removed and cleaned the tb, no luck, pulled the cables off the battery and let it sit, still no luck,, the battery tests ok, no corrosion on or under the fuse box, fuses all test ok... does anyone know of this issue, should i break down and buy a new tb? start checking wires?? maybe a relay somewhere....i'm kind of at a loss
any help would be greatly apreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2014, 10:08 AM
jkeaton's Avatar
jkeaton
jkeaton is offline
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 18,597
Default

Welcome to DF. Please read the section descriptions so you post in the correct area. Moving for you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2014, 11:46 AM
bluebeast1562
bluebeast1562 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 227
Default

Sorry to hear about your issue, that is pretty strange. Anyway to bring back to the place you picked it up from? Call the prior owner and ask if he or she had issues such as this or installed some type of "kill" switch that was not mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2014, 11:58 AM
cansasky
cansasky is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
Default

i had that thought, i'm stuck until monday as i bought it from a dealership out of town.. i've read about a neutral switch issues so i've tried having it in neutral to try to start it, also checked out linkages on the transmission, everything seems ok.. i'm working on lining up a reader to see if its pulling any codes etc.. curious to see if im getting proper voltage at the pedal vs to the servo in the tb but for now i was just curious to know if anyone else has had a similar issue kind of thing
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-13-2014, 04:06 PM
Pedro Dog
Pedro Dog is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Pedro, California
Posts: 1,178
Default

When you say "it will not even attempt to turn over", do you mean it cranks but won't fire up?.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-13-2014, 05:10 PM
cansasky
cansasky is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
Default

no it seems to have locked out the ignition process all toghether, will not crank... just gives me the red lighting bolt on the info center
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-13-2014, 07:04 PM
sottis
sottis is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: MS
Posts: 38
Default

what is 'tb'?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-13-2014, 07:21 PM
Pedro Dog
Pedro Dog is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Pedro, California
Posts: 1,178
Default

Ok, perhaps its the key itself, have you tried a different key? On my vette, a common problem is the anti-theft system. If the system does not recognize the key, it does the same thing.

If you have a volt meter, put one on the starter solenoid and see if you are getting 12 volts there when trying to start the engine.

In the DIY section of this forum, there is a link to a website with the electronic diagrams.

https://techauthorityonlinedemo.extr...ew/classic.htm

Last edited by Pedro Dog; 07-13-2014 at 07:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-13-2014, 09:11 PM
cansasky
cansasky is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
Default

I've tried both key fobs, one of them i recently replaced the battery... still no luck, havn't had a chance to check the starter solenoid as the computer in the truck its telling me its something to do with the electronic throttle control.. so either the the tb (throttle body) or the pedal assembly from what i've read... also read of issues with a faulty temp sensor causing computer gremlins.. id like to have some solid info on the problem if and when i tow it too the shop, if it is the tb i'll just order aftermarket and replace it myself but if its in the wireing.. well that harness is pretty scary looking, think i'll pay someone to look into that
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-13-2014, 11:03 PM
NV290
NV290 is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mass
Posts: 769
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sottis View Post
what is 'tb'?
Throttle Body
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send