2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Alt fusible link (140 amps) blowing, HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2006, 05:33 PM
CoolMuZicMan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Alt fusible link (140 amps) blowing, HELP!

First off, please go easy with me; I am just a guitarist, not a mechanic. But I am not a virgin under the hood.

I have a 1999 Ram 1500 (any other info will need to be requested as I don't know what else you will need to know.) I just replaced the battery, and it was dead within a week. So I put it on a charger over night and replaced it this morning. When I got into the truck to start it, there was no door chime, no instrument lights, but the starter turned over when I turned the key. But the truck would not start. I thought that was strange. I was under the impression that if there was no electric to the cab, then the starter would not get any ether. Anyway, I don't know why, but I looked into the fuse box inside of the engine compartment, and noticed that the 140 amp fusible link for the alternator was blown. I disconnected the battery and replaced the fuse. As soon as I reconnected the battery, the link blew again. I heard the fuse blow.

I don’t want to try this again, at least until I know why it blew, or what I did wrong. Any help from ANYONE would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

Old 08-24-2006, 06:16 PM
94RAM1500
Rookie
Default RE: Alt fusible link (140 amps) blowing, HELP!

Take the alternator off and bring it to a local auto parts store which
has an alternator tester. There's a good chance that it is shorted
inside.

Also, check the alternator wiring and the battery positive/negative
cables for corrosion and tightness.

Old 08-24-2006, 06:17 PM
DieselDemon
Record Breaker