Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

Spark plug replacement on 2000 Grand Caravan

Old 07-18-2004, 03:42 PM
rw1644h
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spark plug replacement on 2000 Grand Caravan

The 100K routine maintenance for my GC is rapidly approaching. I've been a DIY mechanic for quite a few years. This is my first mini-van.

Spark plugs: Is this a job I can handle or what? The 3 plugs in front seem easily accessible. How should I access the rear 3?

Tranny fluid: I had it replaced recently when it was in the shop to fix a slight tranny leak.

Serpentine Idler chattering noise: I've noticed this on many GC's. Wondering if this is the belt idler. What's the problem ? Easy job for the DIY'r?

Thanks in advance......

Old 07-18-2004, 05:39 PM
JCswm
Veteran
Default RE: Spark plug replacement on 2000 Grand Caravan

yea.... they put those 100k spark plugs in there for a reason...... They are a REAL SOB to change With a hoist!!!
make sure the engine is stone cold..... You'll be hugging the converter!!!
Replace the tentioner and the belt, Very common problem, one 15mm nut holds it on!! easy job.
IMHO the Most Important (since the trans is done)is the Fuel filter!!!!!

Old 07-24-2004, 01:12 PM
rw1644h

With regards to the tensioner: Do you mean I can remove the faulty tensioner by removing the 15mm nut (after, of course removing the belt)?

The engines been running rich (i.e. smelly exhaust, mostly when cold but also rich(somewhat) when warm)
I checked for faults codes: 23 then 55. From my research, 23 may be a Air temp sensor, O2 sensor, or Start of codes.
55 is end of codes.
Can you help clarify the 23 code?
Also, do you know where the Air Temp sensor is located?
Are there two O2 sensors? If so, which one is most likely the culprit? Does it make sense to replace both?

Old 07-24-2004, 03:31 PM
JCswm
Veteran