Double Din Install - DodgeForum.com



Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. Let's hear about it here.

Double Din Install

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-14-2011, 12:07 PM
kramer04hemi's Avatar
kramer04hemi kramer04hemi is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Vehicle: work, around town, etc
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 42
Default Double Din Install

Hey Guys,

I just purchased a Kenwood DNX6960 head unit or my 2004 Ram with the infinity sound system. I plan on keeping the factory and and speakers as they sounded just fine for what i needed to do i just did not like the head unit. But i was wondering what kind of harness i need to hook this all up to make it happen..

Is tihs necessary?

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_120CHTO...tab=review#tab

Otherwise i found this one.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Radio...Q5fAccessories

If anyone has any ideas or can point me in the right direction with some other links or ideas that would be great!..

Thanks again for all the help

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2011, 03:15 PM
Ben D. Ben D. is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,752
Default

second harness should do the trick. First one is for certain new chrysler vehicles that use the data system to turn on the factory amplifier and also gives you a good way to interface with the factory amplifier. You could also use a 70-6502 which would use the new decks speaker outputs for signal but the one on ebay will work a bit better with the amplified system.

Also I'm assuming your already aware but just in case. You will have to do a significant amount of modification to the dash of the truck to fit that double din in. Only the 06-up ram trucks had the available double din dash piece that would allow for the installation of a double din. There may be people online that make them for your year truck but if not it's all custom
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2011, 09:01 PM
lxman1's Avatar
lxman1 lxman1 is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2008 QC Ram BigHorn Hemi
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 9,302
Default

Check the FAQ and audio section.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2011, 12:53 AM
That1guy's Avatar
That1guy That1guy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: Ram 1500, SCSB, 4.7 V8, 4x4
Location: Wv
Posts: 461
Default

How do you plan to go double din in an 04?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2011, 08:55 AM
weedahoe's Avatar
weedahoe weedahoe is offline
Hall Of Fame
Hall of Fame Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 04 Dodge Ram QC
Location: South GA
Posts: 19,153
Default

He is going to use this.

Steve, the adhesive finished curing last night so out of goes for shipping.




Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2011, 01:37 PM
kramer04hemi's Avatar
kramer04hemi kramer04hemi is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Vehicle: work, around town, etc
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 42
Default

hey guys thanks for all the replies! ill actually just get that harness on ebay as it seems to make the most sense to use,

Weed - Looks awesome!!! Thanks again!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-23-2011, 04:07 PM
kramer04hemi's Avatar
kramer04hemi kramer04hemi is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Vehicle: work, around town, etc
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 42
Default

Hey Guys,

I have a couple of more question so i bought the harness that is looks like this...
http://dodgeforum.com/forum/audio-vi...Q5fAccessories

However now I am running into some issues with this I started wiring this up and when to plug it all in, and i get the unit to turn on however i am not getting any sound out of it? Does anyone have any ideas of what i might have missed? I have attached some pictures of the how the harness is hooked up as well.











Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-23-2011, 06:57 PM
Ben D. Ben D. is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,752
Default

on the harness from the double din.. hook up the pcont.. blue/white into the blue wire coming out of the harness that plugs into your truck.. that'll fix the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-24-2011, 10:36 AM
kramer04hemi's Avatar
kramer04hemi kramer04hemi is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Vehicle: work, around town, etc
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 42
Default

Hey Ben, thanks for the info, do i just want to integrate it with the blue wires that are already connected?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-24-2011, 12:58 PM
Ben D. Ben D. is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,752
Default

no kenwood in all their infinite wisdom gives you that solid blue wire that says "power ant"... well if you meter that wire.. it never gets power no matter what.. that wire is what the factory infinity amp uses as a 12v turn on... so hook up the blue/white from the kenwood into the blue from that harness you got for the truck.. eliminate the blue one from the kenwood and all will be fine.. your issue is the infinity amp isn't turning on therefore no audio... if the wire from kenwood acted the way it is labeled you would get audio on AM/FM but not on anything else...
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clear Blue Sky rally sccarally South West 1 08-21-2015 09:23 PM
6 prin Fuelpump connector HELP!!! Nicholas Bennett 1st Gen Dakota 3 08-13-2015 11:57 PM
The most convenient truck bed tool boxes! carid 4th Gen Ram Tech 2 08-10-2015 09:25 PM
5.2 vacuum line on intake disconnected jayz55 2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech 18 08-03-2015 01:04 PM
New Throttle Valve Cable, Now no Throttle roadhammer1971 2nd Gen Ram Tech 16 07-07-2015 12:12 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 AM.