Brand News, Concepts & Rumors Have you heard? Have you seen? No? Come on in, read and discuss the latest from Dodge. (This is not a tech section.)

5 Car Brands To Buy (And 5 You Should Avoid!)

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2016, 11:31 AM
usmc1811
Veteran
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default 5 Car Brands To Buy (And 5 You Should Avoid!)

The 5 brands to avoid that were called out in the Equinoxly.com article.

Fiat, Jeep, Chrysler, Ram and the Mini Cooper.

equinoxly.com/5-car-brands-to-buy-and-5-you-should-avoid/5/

Old 02-16-2016, 01:28 PM
Jaded
Record Breaker
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

I keep seeing bad press on Fiat/Chrysler. I've been driving one for the past 19 years and feel the reliability rating isn't deserved. They have been consistently behind the pack in fuel economy and engineering in my experience. I know this, and will most likely buy another when the time comes.

Old 02-27-2016, 08:05 AM
jmr
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Seems sad Mopar used to make really decent small cars but know I'm not sure under Fiat.

Old 03-03-2016, 10:51 PM
97 3.5 Intrepid
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Real brands to avoid by people who can give actual reasons beyond because the agenda driven hacks at CR said so:

Subaru (headgasket problems with Flat 4s and use of CVTs)
Volkswagen (numerous sludging engine problems, cheating on emission rules, horrible electronics, etc)
Mini (Prince engine equipped have carbon build up issues, problems with timing equipment breaking due to use of plastic parts, water pumps, electronics, etc., CVT on the first gen) (I guess they should have continued to use the Tritec engine)
Nissan (CVTs, I4 are poor track record, overall quality has fallen far)
Honda (weak auto transmissions, Civic recall on I4s, 2013 era V6 use about 1 quart per 1000 miles claiming it to be normal, ugly as sin)