viper v10 in charger - DodgeForum.com


Charger, Roadrunner & Superbee Talk Charger (pre-1975). Coronet, Roadrunner and Superbee (& other 'B' bodies) specific topics within.

viper v10 in charger

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 01-16-2006, 09:04 AM
syko
syko is offline
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Default viper v10 in charger

hello all im new to this fourm. i am getting out of the marine corps in about 6 months. i wanna get a 1968-1970 charger but wanna do someting different and put a viper drive trian in it but i was wondering if anyone has any info about doing this or seen it done and what mods to the car have to be made. please save me the "why would you rip up a classic car" i have been getting that from few other fourms. i hope this one can be more helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2006, 07:35 PM
DevilsReject
DevilsReject is offline
Noob Assassin
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9,445
Default RE: viper v10 in charger

It's been done before, in a few different Chargers.....there's pictures of it on this forum....but I cant for the life of me remember in which thread.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2006, 08:18 PM
70ChargerR/T
70ChargerR/T is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 17
Default RE: viper v10 in charger

if you are doing the viper engine becuase you want the 502ci i would find a 440ci block and stroke it to a 542. it will be alot cheaper and you will get more cubic inches, but it won't have the crowed pleasing affect like a viper engine would. i have found a link were mopar muscle stroked a 440 into a 542 and it had 575+hp with 700lb/ft of torque. moparmusclemagazine.com/projectbuild/23249/ . i plan to stroke my 440 for my charger. by the way does anyone know the cubic inch to liters on the 542, or does anyone have a conversion that they know of?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2006, 02:54 AM
70ChargerR/T
70ChargerR/T is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 17
Default RE: viper v10 in charger

I got on yahoo and found a conversion from ci to liters and a 542 is a 8.9L so you could spend allot less, weigh less=faster, more cubic inches, more horsepower, more torque, and it would be allot easier in my opinion if you went with the 542 aka 8.9 liter. you should really read the article on the link I put on my earlier post. don't get me wrong I’m not against you in any way on "tearing up a classic car" as some people would put it. I do think a viper engine would have a better crowed pleasing affect standing still and with the hood up but when your sitting at a stop light and some little ricer revs his **** ant engine and you rev your 542 cubic inch engine with 575+hp and 700lb/ft of torque I think he will probably **** his pants. and if he doesn't you can always have a little fun with him right!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:32 AM
firefighter3931
firefighter3931 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 19
Default RE: viper v10 in charger

The Viper engine conversion requires a fair amount of re-construction. The firewall has to be moved rearward to accomodate the v-10....big project, not for the feint of heart.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2006, 07:56 AM
Midnight SRT's Avatar
Midnight SRT
Midnight SRT is offline
Nightly Creeper
Dodge Forum Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tallahassee/Ft Myers, Florida
Posts: 29,502
Default RE: viper v10 in charger

Here you go!

1968 Dodge Charger GTS: http://www.dodgeforum.com/fb.asp?m=349694
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dustin6119
Dodge Charger
0
09-26-2015 02:27 AM
ienjoi
Dodge Charger
2
09-25-2015 12:48 PM
trace001
Dodge Charger
0
09-23-2015 05:12 PM
A6M3
Dodge Charger
1
09-13-2015 03:28 AM
DerekShiekhi
Dodge Viper
0
09-03-2015 08:39 PM



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:37 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send