Dodge Caliber The new sporty Dodge Caliber is a hatchback that replaces the Dodge Neon. The Dodge Caliber is here to stay!

Rattling noise in engine as if something is about to fall off :(

Old 05-23-2011, 07:29 AM
adale714
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rattling noise in engine as if something is about to fall off :(

We have a 2008 Dodge Caliber and the past two weeks it has started making a constant rattling noise from passenger side of engine. I lifted the hood and tried to pin point where exactly it was coming from and it seems to me to be coming where the belts are...I am no mechanic though and need help Any guesses as to what it could be? Money is tight as I am sure it is with many so we want to find out if it is covered under our warranty before having them do a diagnostics that will cost us $60 alone if it's not covered. My brother made a random guess and things it may be a loose heating plate. Our caliber isn't fancy and is an automatic basic model Thanks in advance!

Old 05-23-2011, 12:13 PM
KRZY.BMET
Peaceful Browser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

What warranty do you have? Did you buy it used or new and how many miles are on it.

If you are still under the 36k mile warranty then pretty much anything under the hood will be covered.

As far as what is rattling, there just entirely to many parts that can loosen up under the hood that can make a noise. My advice, don't wait, get it into a garage and make sure everything is tight so nothing will fall off and either break something worse or cause a something to stop working that you may need.

Old 05-23-2011, 08:44 PM
lxman1
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 21 Likes on 18 Posts

Welcome to the forum.

I would start with removing the belt. Start it up to see if the noise is still there. If not, then it is a belt driven accessory and I would spin them by hand to see if they make noise or are rough feeling.