Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

Do-It Yourself *newbie*

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2007, 03:02 PM
tsenior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do-It Yourself *newbie*

Hi All,
I'm new to this forum. I've starting work on my 2000 Dodge Grand Caravan. I plan on replacing the PCV valve, transmission oil, fuel filter and whatever else that needs maintenence/replacement. Since I plan on doing all this myself on my driveeway, can anybody recommend a jack to lift the vehicle? I also want to use the jack for my other car. Also, since I am only getting started with doing my own work, how complex is installing new brake pads? The shop told me that the front pads are 85% worn.

Any/all recommendations are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

-T

Old 06-04-2007, 10:53 PM
next2pool
Professional
Default RE: Do-It Yourself *newbie*

I would invest in a rolling floor jack. They aren't too expensive and you can find them at Walmart, Autozone, etc. They are more stable than the jacks that come with the car. Regardless--make sure you use jackstands under the car once it is jacked up--it simply is not safe to rely on the jack(s) itself. Another good alternative is a set of steel or plastic ramps--they are very sturdy and convenient, but don't quite have the flexibility that jacks do. The front pads are pretty easy to replace yourself, but you may want to get a shop manual to help with the details, or as an alternative, Autozone has decent on line guides with drawings. I bought a factory shop manual on CD disk on eBay for about $10

Old 06-05-2007, 05:48 AM
haidangwa