Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

Transmission died? on 2001 Dodge Grand Caravan Sport

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2008, 11:19 PM
th8527
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission died? on 2001 Dodge Grand Caravan Sport

At least that's what they told me. Driving 65mph on the expresswayRPms shoot up. I pull over now the van won't go into Drive, screams in reverse and sometimes goes into neutral (or it acts like it is in park when it is in Neutral). There are no fluids leaking or anything. We had the van towed, after a few minutes you could hear it trying to go into drive and it would try to move forward, but it acted as though the parking brake was down. It literally would lurch forward but the tires would not move.

The Dodge dealership quoted$3700 for a rebuilt transmission. What do you make of this? I am no mechanic.

It's a 2001 with 109,000 miles on it.

Any help would be appreciated. Couldit be atransmission control module?

Old 01-07-2008, 02:43 PM
jubadah
Default RE: Transmission died? on 2001 Dodge Grand Caravan Sport

Check with your local transmission shops. It can be challenging to find a reputable one. Ask local auto repair shops who they use. They usually know the reputable ones that are not going to sell you something you don't need. Most front wheel drives that I have had rebuilt at a local tranny shop ranged about $1,400 to $1,800 in the past few years.

Old 01-10-2008, 07:58 AM
chopper
Veteran

I agree with jubadah.
Since it's been a few days since your original post I assume you've already made a decision.If not here's some help.
Look for a transmission shop that is clean and well lit.
The shop manager should be willing to show you all the parts that are to be replaced BEFORE the repair begins.