Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Vans & CUVs > Dodge Caravan
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!
Sponsored by Dodgetruckparts
Click Here


grand caravan 2000 speedometer & odo problems

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-23-2010, 05:01 AM
silviucarol silviucarol is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Default grand caravan 2000 speedometer & odo problems

Hi,
I have a big problem: my speedometer stop to work, it stay on zero all the time, I could drive with 80 mph and stay to zero.
I was trying to make the reset, the speedometer works only on test. The final code 999.
On the same time it is not working the odometer, I'm driving hundread miles, but it register zero. On the same time the fuel level it is working sporadic.
Tachometer and temperature of engine are working fine.
The problem was starting with one week ago when sometimes the speedometer was working after driving 5 minutes, or if I push cruise control, but now, it is not working.
Please give me an advice. I understood that could be some problems with the soldering of some wires.
I live in Europe, the car is made for Canada, and I preffer to have a good advice from you.
Thanks a lot for your help
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2010, 11:17 AM
Tizzy1's Avatar
Tizzy1 Tizzy1 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,945
Default

Welcome to the forum, Check for codes in the PCM and TCM, maybe the speed sensor on the transmission is bad.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2010, 04:09 PM
silviucarol silviucarol is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Hi Tizzy1, this means to connect the laptop to the OBD?
If yes, does exist a program to read the codes?
Sorry, I'm new with american cars, I have only european and I have all the software for these kind of cars.
I will also check if I have some soft for dodge, but I'm afraid not
Thanks a lot for your hint
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2010, 04:55 PM
Tizzy1's Avatar
Tizzy1 Tizzy1 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,945
Default

Yes, connect something that can read codes to the OBD connector. Usually when the dash craps out because of a solder joint, the entire dash goes down, not just bits and pieces. I would lean more to an input or output speed sensor or something that just effects the speedo.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2010, 02:00 AM
silviucarol silviucarol is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Default

yes, but the car also don't register correct the fuel in tank and no more register how many miles I'm driving
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2010, 01:22 PM
Tizzy1's Avatar
Tizzy1 Tizzy1 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,945
Default

Speedo and the odometer are probably the same issue. If it doesn't know how fast your going, it doesn't know how far either. the fuel gauge is probably it's own issue. Lots of sender issues on the old minivans.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2010, 05:06 PM
silviucarol silviucarol is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Default

ok, thanks a lot.
Could you tell me pls where are those sensors located just to check the wires?
I'm in a small holiday and I just don't want to work now, but Sat. I'll be back home and I want to try what you tell me.
Thanks again for your help & time
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-25-2010, 10:21 AM
Tizzy1's Avatar
Tizzy1 Tizzy1 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,945
Default

This is the front side of the transmission where the dipstick tube goes down to. The first sensor is the input speed sensor and the second one that looks just like the first is the output speed sensor

Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2010, 10:45 AM
sapporo sapporo is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,406
Default

output speed sensor on the driver side of the transmission will cause speedo/odo inoperation. Don't forget these vans are notorious for electrical problems with the instrument cluster (bad solder joints)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-25-2010, 01:36 PM
silviucarol silviucarol is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Default

I will put OBD. WHen I took off the IOD for 5 minutes and put it back it was a nice sitution: the speedo don't worked but it registered a trip of 0.2 miles
It got me crazy.
Thanks for the picture, i will take a look
Sapporo, could you tell me wich solder joints to check?
Thanks a lot, I will cme back with info
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-25-2010, 02:53 PM
sapporo sapporo is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,406
Default

IDK what joints, it's just what I read on here all the time~
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-25-2010, 05:02 PM
silviucarol silviucarol is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Default

tx a lot
After taking away the IOD fuse for 5 minutes, the speedo did not worked, but on trip there was registered a 'huge' lenght of 0,2 miles
I hate this
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-25-2010, 05:07 PM
Tizzy1's Avatar
Tizzy1 Tizzy1 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,945
Default

have you been able to check for codes?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-25-2010, 05:39 PM
sapporo sapporo is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silviucarol View Post
tx a lot
After taking away the IOD fuse for 5 minutes, the speedo did not worked, but on trip there was registered a 'huge' lenght of 0,2 miles
I hate this
at least you're not driving a Citroen
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-25-2010, 11:56 PM
thaddy1978 thaddy1978 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Vehicle: 69 Olds, 86 Bronco, 97 Stratus
Posts: 54
Default

Yeah, these vans, I tell ya...

My van's speedo just began acting up one day. And at that, some days it works and some days its pegged and won't move. The other issue with it, is it is +/-10 mph off. And since I've had the thing, the gas gauge is real funky. After 50 miles the needle will drop. Drive 40 more miles, it may go back up. It fluctuates at times. I never depend on it! I replaced my in/output speed sensors, to no avail. I have been told by some transmission friends of mine that this could be simply an electronic problem in the dash cluster itself. Anyone else have this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-26-2010, 04:50 AM
silviucarol silviucarol is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Default

yeah, but my citroen it is modified :-)
OK, I put finally the OBD, but suprise, did not connect.
On the citroen it is working fine, it is OBD II
SHould I make something on connecting the OBD II?

And I just forget, when I connected the laptop to the lighter from the car I just distroyed the fuse from the cigarette lighter. I tried to find everywhere the fuse, but I just cannot find.

Last edited by silviucarol; 06-26-2010 at 04:54 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-26-2010, 11:03 AM
Tizzy1's Avatar
Tizzy1 Tizzy1 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,945
Default

fuse 4, 20 amp, in the power distribution center under the hood.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-26-2010, 11:38 AM
silviucarol silviucarol is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks to Tizzy my cig plug it is working, I have back my GPS, so I could know my speed.
I will put later 3 photos under hood to have some help with the location of speed sensors.
Thanks again, I'm connected to technology. Evidently that it was Cig & Acc on the picture, but I didn't see it :-)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-26-2010, 11:34 PM
thaddy1978 thaddy1978 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Vehicle: 69 Olds, 86 Bronco, 97 Stratus
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silviucarol View Post
Thanks to Tizzy my cig plug it is working, I have back my GPS, so I could know my speed.
I will put later 3 photos under hood to have some help with the location of speed sensors.
Thanks again, I'm connected to technology. Evidently that it was Cig & Acc on the picture, but I didn't see it :-)
Buy them anyway. Look at them. Then look at your transmission from the front of the vehicle. Look down at the tranny and then look at the sensors. You should be able to see what is what. If what you think is a speed sensor doesn't look like what you have in your hand, don't touch it. If it does, take it out and replace it. I changed mine without any issue at all.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-27-2010, 05:36 AM
silviucarol silviucarol is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Default

ok, so here are the pictures....



Uploaded with ImageShack.us



Uploaded with ImageShack.us



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I really don't want to unplug smthing else :-)
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 05:36 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:53 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails