Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

front a/c evaporator replacement

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2011, 10:41 PM
heykolohe
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default front a/c evaporator replacement

I have diagnosed a leak in the system as the front evap. I have been an auto tech for over 30 years but have never pulled a dash on a 2005 grand caravan. I have access to alldata but it lacks the the procedure to remove parts to gain access to the hvac housing. I am close to having the dash out but have encountered a few stumbling blocks. Could anyone help?
Ed Miner
Kolohe Auto Repair
Pahoa,Hi 96778

Old 05-21-2011, 10:41 AM
Tizzy1
Champion
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

REMOVAL

WARNING: TO AVOID PERSONAL INJURY OR DEATH, ON VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH AIRBAGS, DISABLE THE SUPPLEMENTAL RESTRAINT SYSTEM BEFORE ATTEMPTING ANY STEERING WHEEL, STEERING COLUMN, AIRBAG, OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM, SEAT BELT TENSIONER, IMPACT SENSOR, OR INSTRUMENT PANEL COMPONENT DIAGNOSIS OR SERVICE. DISCONNECT AND ISOLATE THE BATTERY NEGATIVE (GROUND) CABLE, THEN WAIT TWO MINUTES FOR THE SYSTEM CAPACITOR TO DISCHARGE BEFORE PERFORMING FURTHER DIAGNOSIS OR SERVICE. THIS IS THE ONLY SURE WAY TO DISABLE THE SUPPLEMENTAL RESTRAINT SYSTEM. FAILURE TO TAKE THE PROPER PRECAUTIONS COULD RESULT IN ACCIDENTAL AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT.