Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

[5th Gen : 08+]: ABS, EPS BAS Parking lights..

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2014, 08:04 PM
ptmdiam1
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ABS, EPS BAS Parking lights..

Hi All

Car noob here, and i want to get more knowledgable about what my mechanic might repair

i own a 2008 dodge caravan - had the wheel bearings (both front) replaced this past spring. just did the EGR valve!

When i turn on the van the dashboard is clean, but when i start driving, the following lights come up ABS, EPS/BAS, and Parking Brake... this just happen today. i drove the van, and it drove fine... braked fine...

what does this mean... can i still drive...

i have a basic ODBII reader and plugged it in, no codes came out of it..

Old 07-25-2014, 12:06 AM
Cougar41
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

All that falls under chassis codes. An ordinary scanner won't read them. You'll have to buy one or find a shop that has one. Normal culprit is a wheel sensor but a code would confirm it.

If it weren't for the BRAKE light you could drive it safely. That light is not only for your parking brake but also for your front/rear brake system. It could indicate something as simple as low fluid or as serious as a system fault such as a cracked brake line or blown seal. You'll have to get it looked at asap.

Last edited by Cougar41; 07-25-2014 at 12:09 AM.
Old 07-31-2014, 08:49 AM
ptmdiam1
Amateur

the lights went away... does that mean we okay?

Old 08-01-2014, 05:16 PM
redparrot

I had this problem intermittently and got code for right front wheel speed sensor.Found the right front sensor connector backed out about 1/8 of an inch. Pushed it tight and wraped with silicon tape and problem went away

Old 08-02-2014, 10:42 AM
ptmdiam1
Amateur

Hi Redparrot