Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

Ambient Air Temp Sensor?

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2005, 02:32 PM
mike_302
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ambient Air Temp Sensor?

I have an 05 Dodge Grand Caravan I bought a couple of months ago, I got a check engine light last week and took it to the dealer who told me the ambient air temp sensor got knocked off while driving?!

Now I am new to mini vans, I drive a mustang the van is for my wife, but the only air temp sensor I know of would be part of the mass air flow assembly? If thats the case what would it be doing on the bottom of the car in the first place?

I know the engine code was 0071 which I pulled using the key trick, the dealer would not confirm what the code meant until I brought it in then they tried to charge me $90 even though it is under warranty. Which I am not going to do.

Any help would be appreciated, is this sensor what I think it is? Does it do something else entirely? How hard is it to replace, and where can I find one, I have checked Autozone and Parts america and they can't seem to find one.

Old 12-22-2005, 10:17 AM
brandoncrone
Veteran
Default RE: Ambient Air Temp Sensor?

P0071 is ambient temp sensor performance. The sensor is located behind the front bumper, down at the bottom in the center of the vehicle. You can see it from the front of the vehicle through the holes in the bumper. Its probably a bad sensor as you would have to practically destroy the front bumper to damager the sensor. Also Chrysler products don't use mass air flow sensors (except the mitsubishi cars)

Old 12-30-2005, 09:00 PM
mike_302

Thanks, the dealer I ended up taking it to here in Indy told me the sensor was hit by a rock and was gone? He also said it was on the exhaust so I got the feeling he was full of it.

Gonna go try to find a replacement at Autozone, appreciate the help.