Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

Whining when turning (03 Grand Caravan)

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2006, 01:32 PM
gamecockfan04
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Whining when turning (03 Grand Caravan)

Newbie here!!
Just got this van used and yesterday morning it started with a loud whining which is coming from the pass. side near the pump, which gets loader as you turn the wheels. After driving for a few minutes however the sound goes away??? I was hearing a slight "chirp" every so often with the A/C on the other day and just assumed it was the belt that probably needed replacing (54K), but could that cause the whine in the steering to? The fluid is not leaking and it is full, so just wanted to see if someone could give me some ideas before I start replacing stuff.

Old 08-29-2006, 01:54 AM
chopper
Veteran
Default RE: Whining when turning (03 Grand Caravan)

The "chirp" is probably a bad bearing in the belt tensioner.This can be replaced fairly easily.You can use a long wooden dowel or screwdriver held to your ear to listen to different bearings and figure out where the sound is actually coming from.BE CAREFULL if the belt gets ahold of the listening device you could end up on True Stories of the E.R!!!

Old 08-31-2006, 03:08 PM
gamecockfan04

Just a though, but is it possible that its the wrong PS fluid (weight)? Maybe its to heavy/thick and its taking it sevral minutes to warm it to then the fluid out and thats why it goes away after about 5 - 10 minutes down the road?

Old 09-03-2006, 01:27 AM
rabtrfld