Check Engine light - DodgeForum.com


Dodge Charger The Dodge Charger. The car that made its competitors shiver in the 60's is reborn in 2006 into a sleek sedan that can still send the competition home wimpering, the Dodge Charger.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Check Engine light

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 06-27-2010, 05:07 PM
08 R/T AWD
08 R/T AWD is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default Check Engine light

I have an '08 R/T AWD Charger with about 37K miles. The check engine light just came on which typically would not be a big problem. I plugged in my OBD II tester and keep on getting a message on my tester that says "Link Error". I have checked the tester connection which appears to be good enough to power up the tester and I have checked the diagnostic module fuse which is also still good. Any Ideas for me? I really appreciate the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2010, 10:52 AM
MangoInTX
MangoInTX is offline
Charger Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Allen TX
Posts: 3,109
Default

Don't rightly know whats wrong. Possibly something with the PCM. Is it under warranty?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2010, 11:28 AM
08 R/T AWD
08 R/T AWD is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default

No it's not under warranty anymore. And, this morning the light just went off. That's all fine and dandy but doesn't solve my main problem. I want to be able to diagnose on my own and not have to pay the dealership $75 a pop everytime the silly light comes on for something as small as an O2 sensor. So, I am still looking for any ideas. I appreciate all the help I can get.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2010, 03:11 PM
KRZY.BMET's Avatar
KRZY.BMET
KRZY.BMET is offline
Peaceful Browser
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 4,963
Default

Is your tester just that, a tester? or is a full programmer? If it is just a tester, can you do a reflash from the computer? Maybe the programming got corrupted or something. If it is a programmer and you have your car tuned, then that might cause a problem doing that.

You could always take the car to pepboys or something and have them hook up to your car with there tester. If it works, then you at least know that the problem is with your tester and not the connector on the car. You never know, your connector might have been damaged or something and it has nothing to do with your tester. Just a little trouble shooting technique.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dael
3rd Gen Ram Tech
6
06-18-2016 11:49 PM
95Ram2500v10
2nd Gen Ram Tech
5
02-01-2016 12:09 AM
rampulstilskin
2nd Gen Ram Tech
14
08-19-2015 01:40 PM
90vnt
3rd Gen Dakota
1
07-07-2015 09:34 PM
Sparky86
2nd Gen Ram Tech
2
07-06-2015 02:12 PM



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send