Dodge Charger The Dodge Charger. The car that made its competitors shiver in the 60's is reborn in 2006 into a sleek sedan that can still send the competition home wimpering, the Dodge Charger.

318 into 06 Charger

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2015, 03:22 PM
Mr.watts0921
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 318 into 06 Charger

Hi guys, I'm a newbie starting off with cars and I'm just wondering if this is possible. I hve a 99 Durango with a 318 5.2L motor and i am planning on buying an 06 Charger with a blown 3.5 in it and plan on swapping over the 318 to the Charger. so my questions are 1)is it smart to rebuilt my 318 to basically have a brand new motor in the Charger 2) will it get better MPG meaning its in a lighter vehicle now 3) how do i make my 318 more fuel efficient so the charger wont be a gas guzzler?

Old 05-27-2015, 03:28 PM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 335 Likes on 299 Posts

A 318 will be a gas guzzler no matter what you do to it. Not even sure that what is basically a truck engine will even fit in a Charger, but I guess with enough time and money, anything is possible.

Old 05-28-2015, 11:19 AM
HemiLonestar
Banned
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

ROFLMAO
Sorry. All that custom work for less power and worse mileage than the V6 that was in it. Make no mistake, this will be ALL custom, 318 was never designed to sit and function there. If you were hell bent on putting a V8 in that Charger then do a hemi swap, that at least was an engine available. You couldn't even bolt the same trans to the 318. If I remember right the 318 was rated at 230hp and the 3.5 at 250hp.

To swap 318 in:
Need trans, custom mounts for trans and engine, custom wiring harness as 318's have a distributor and 3.5 and hemis do not, custom engine tuning to even hope it runs, different trans my require custom driveshaft, also 318 intake manifold has a vertical throttle body, this will not fit with air cleaner under the stock Charger hood.

To swap hemi in: