Dodge Classics Have a pre-muscle era car? How about an old pickup truck? Talk classic automobiles within.

1973 D100 Pickup restoration

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2010, 07:54 AM
mortonarts
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1973 D100 Pickup restoration

First of all let me start out and say that I am not a mechanic. I work on computers for a living. I am using this vehicle to learn on and it is a fun project because I always wanted a truck.

I Have a 73 D100 with a 318 in it that I bought 4 months ago. It is my first time working on any vehicle. It sat in a field for about 5 years and has a whole lot of rust damage. When I got it it was leaking coolant into the cab because the heater core had a hole in it. I replaced the heater core and that is now good. So far I have replaced the brake booster, master brake cylinder, plugs, plug wires, cap and rotors. I just got the new interior door panels cause they were broken. I replaced the weather stripping in the doors and now the windows go up and down again. It has one of the built in tool boxes and the hinges rusted through. It was screwed in with metal screws and now I am going to try to get a friend of mine to weld new hinges onto it. I stripped the paint on that part and primered it so that it would slow down the rust on it. I just found out that I need to replace the alternator and the radiator just sprung a leak. So I will be replacing that soon as well. I want to slowly strip this thing down and sand and primer it one part at a time. It needs a lot of body work. It also has the rusted out sections under the doors. I could use any help as far as finding parts for this thing. I think after I replace the alternator and the radiator that most of the rest of the work will be cosmetic in nature. Getting rid of rust and fixing paint. I will need to replace a lot of the trim. I really like the original paint colors. Off white and the Burnt orange. If anyone has any advice I would be happy to listen.

Thanks