Dodge Journey Dodge Journey forum for discussion on the popular Dodge Crossover and CUV.

2011 Journey RT AWD needs some TLC

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2015, 10:20 PM
RAB
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2011 Journey RT AWD needs some TLC

Hey everyone, I haven't been around to lend a hand in here for quite some time and more importantly I am not a mechanic. Any advice I give is limited to (my back yard tinkering) and years of befriending mechanics. I have owned three or four Dodge vans and currently own a 2007 caravan and a 2011 Journey. The caravan runs perfectly with only 70,000 kms, the only thing I have done is front breaks. The Journey is fun to drive up until now at 42,000 kms, it has sprouted a few gremlins. It was relatively worry free except for the day the back breaks seized up while being driven on the highway. This is our first car with rear disc breaks and I had no idea how they tied in the emergency break. Since then I have read up about rear calipers and that they may have been under engineered. When they seized up while driving I asked the dealer to replace the break pads and rotors. Two years later and the rear rotors are chewed up again and the front rotors and pads are still like new. I am beginning to think the front breaks aren't doing very much work. I also received a letter from Dodge a couple of years ago saying they are extending the engine warranty by five years. I haven't had any problems with the engine but after forty thousand kms. the transmission is starting to do a dangerous downshift which can make the car jump forward at low speeds. I haven't taken it into a dealer yet because I don't like going in blind. Besides the transmission problem the whole front end is rattling like crazy. The car is driven by a very unforgiving owner that doesn't know the value of avoiding pot holes etc. and those big nineteen inch rims pounding all those bumps have taken a toll. So my whole front end is noisy, if I jiggle the steering wheel just an