Dodge Neon The sport compact car that took the world by storm. the Dodge Neon. Depending on the trim level you get, this sporty ride has something to offer everyone.

How many miles can you get out of a 2000 dodge neon...

Old 07-16-2005, 12:02 AM
Etanimulc
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How many miles can you get out of a 2000 dodge neon...

How many miles do most people get out of a 2000 dodge neon, before they have engine and transmission problems. I'm a spirited driver who pushes my car more than half of the time; not full throttle ever time.

Old 07-17-2005, 10:55 PM
pimpberetta
Veteran
Default RE: How many miles can you get out of a 2000 dodge neon...

Personally, i think thats like trying to ask how much horsepower does a 400 C.C. engine make. Its not a question u can answer really. Different mods here and there change that.

How the car was broken in, how its been maintained, run at high rpms for extended periods of time will wear it down quick quick. Pretty much depends how you drive and maintain it.

jus my 2c

Old 07-18-2005, 05:44 PM
Etanimulc
Rookie

What is considered high rpm? Usually 4,000 rpm is when most cars are making good power.

Old 07-19-2005, 08:43 AM
RadarLove
Record Breaker

Peak power in the stock SOHC is closer to 5600 rpm. Even with the Mopar PCM, my car doesn't even start making decent power until 4000 rpm.

But driving at those rpms on the street is ridiculous. I keep mine in the 2k-3k range, unless I need to pass in a hurry or I'm getting on the freeway and want to get up to speed in a hurry.

With good maintenance, you should have no problems turning 250k miles. If I kept this engine, I'm sure it would hit 500k (236k now), but I plan on building one here soon to swap in...

Best of luck!

Old 07-19-2005, 09:13 PM
Etanimulc
Rookie

Is there anything else that I should really focus on, as far as maintenance besides the engine and the transmission?

Old 07-20-2005, 09:31 AM
RadarLove
Record Breaker