HELP !!! - I can't find the oil pressure sending unit - DodgeForum.com


Dodge/Ram Diesel Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

HELP !!! - I can't find the oil pressure sending unit

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:16 PM
Mayfair's Avatar
Mayfair
Mayfair is offline
Legend
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 100% Heaven Sent
Posts: 8,530
Default HELP !!! - I can't find the oil pressure sending unit

I'm out back right now trying to find it. I've got manuals open, and I'm looking for the ECM. Apparently it's somewhere near there. I have no clue.

I'm going out back right now to take pics. BRB.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:27 PM
Mayfair's Avatar
Mayfair
Mayfair is offline
Legend
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 100% Heaven Sent
Posts: 8,530
Default RE: HELP !!! - I can't find the oil pressure sending unit

OK, hehe we go ...












Wouls someone kindly circle the sensor or at least the general area where I should be looking?

Thanks !!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:34 PM
Kev_n_AZ
Kev_n_AZ is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 2,619
Default RE: HELP !!! - I can't find the oil pressure sending unit

my book shows it behind the power steering pump if that helps.

(although my book only shows to 1996 ctds, but they could not have changed much)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:38 PM
Mayfair's Avatar
Mayfair
Mayfair is offline
Legend
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 100% Heaven Sent
Posts: 8,530
Default RE: HELP !!! - I can't find the oil pressure sending unit

Yeah, my first book showed the same, however my supplement book showed it near the ECM. Here ya go. This is what parts/service told me when my light came on.

Sounds like your oil pressure sensor is dying. Part # 5012991AD. Check the connector to make sure its clean and tight. Its beside the engine control module mounted on the drivers side of the engine block. Look for a silver box about 8 inches by 12 inches square. That is the ECM, sensor is next to that......







A silver box 8X 12 you would think would be hard to miss, but I can't find it
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:43 PM
Mayfair's Avatar
Mayfair
Mayfair is offline
Legend
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 100% Heaven Sent
Posts: 8,530
Default RE: HELP !!! - I can't find the oil pressure sending unit

I "think" I found the ECM. I "think" it's bolted right onto the block behind the stock fuel filter housing. Does that sound right?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:44 PM
Kev_n_AZ
Kev_n_AZ is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 2,619
Default RE: HELP !!! - I can't find the oil pressure sending unit

according to the diagram from Dave, the pcm bolts to the block.

have ya rolled under the engine with a flood light?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:48 PM
Mayfair's Avatar
Mayfair
Mayfair is offline
Legend
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 100% Heaven Sent
Posts: 8,530
Default RE: HELP !!! - I can't find the oil pressure sending unit

Yeah Kev, I took one out and I think I see the sensor now. I'm putting the cover back onto the throttle cables now. I took it off because I thought it might be up there since there is a bunch of wires up there. Of course in the process, I broke a plastic screw. [:@]

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:52 PM
Kev_n_AZ
Kev_n_AZ is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 2,619
Default RE: HELP !!! - I can't find the oil pressure sending unit

silicone will replace that screw
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2008, 04:10 PM
woligator
woligator is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 1,228
Default RE: HELP !!! - I can't find the oil pressure sending unit

its on the side of the block u dont see it on ur pics mayfair
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-13-2008, 04:16 PM
NickBeek
NickBeek is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 1,809
Default RE: HELP !!! - I can't find the oil pressure sending unit

If your engine and ecm are similar to mine, that drawing shows the sensor BELOW the ECM. Use the plugs going into the ecm as a land mark.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Ronald_Arif
Dodge Ram Van
4
10-07-2015 02:16 PM
Strocket
1st Gen Durango
3
08-02-2015 05:20 PM
yevgenievich
Dodge Stratus
2
07-28-2015 10:05 AM
vtorresma
2nd Gen Intrepid
0
07-20-2015 04:45 PM
josh.simon
Dodge Caravan
9
07-17-2015 11:35 PM



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:29 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send