Cold weather starting.. - DodgeForum.com



Dodge/Ram Diesel Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Cold weather starting..

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 12-25-2010, 12:31 PM
Geezir
Geezir is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 351
Default Cold weather starting..

So I have a 2005 5.9 Cummins and it has been giving me some issues with cold weather starting. Right now its about -5*C, probably went down to maybe -10*C over night. Went to start the truck this morning and it wont start. Truck wasn't plugged in but at -5*C...does it really need to be? Plenty of battery power to crank it over and as far as I can tell the heater grid is cycling properly.

Cummins is a great motor...but my **** they are a pain in the *** for cold starting. -35*C you can almost forget about starting it.

I run a fuel conditioner with anti-gel in it so I doubt (especially at these mild temps) that my fuel is gelled or there is frozen condensation in the lines.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-25-2010, 02:51 PM
dodgetrucker75's Avatar
dodgetrucker75
dodgetrucker75 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: live oak, ca
Posts: 2,283
Default

try pluging it in and see how it reacts, my 75 used to start up with some grid cycles and a couple trys at cranking, but always started with little issues below 0*F but they do have completely different fuel systems, i keep mine pluged in most of the winter just for the joy of not having to drive for 1/2 an hour to get heat out of the vents, i got one of the plug in timers and it kicks on every morning just a few hours before i need to leave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2010, 02:56 PM
Geezir
Geezir is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 351
Default

Yeah it's plugged in now but the batteries wont turn over anymore. After a couple grid cycles and start attemptes it wont turn over at all.

I'm going to try cleaning the terminals see if that helps. Like I said it sounded like it was cranking strong.

Wondering what my fuel filter looks like...I haven't changed it since buying the truck, could have some gunk in it which wouldn't help my problem at all.

I hadn't plugged it in all this week and it was fine..just today it wouldn't catch while turning over.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-25-2010, 05:06 PM
Tazman40
Tazman40 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 205
Default

Just cause u have treated the fuel doesnt mean it isnt crystalized.I have seen alot of treated winter blend fuels here in upstate NY gel.If its cranking and not smoking then its fuel.I would pop the filter and see what it looks like.Between the old filter and the cold im pretty sure u will find the problem
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-26-2010, 12:02 AM
Geezir
Geezir is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 351
Default

Where does one find the fuel filter on these trucks? Is it inline? Or will it be right on the fuel tank.

Also noticed that the ground on my drivers side battery has (once again) come loose. I've tightened it up as much as I can (again). This is about the third time this terminal has been tightened and it seems no matter how tight I tighten the pinch bolt...its never 100% tight on the post.

This clearly isn't helping my starting problem. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-26-2010, 02:15 AM
dodgetrucker75's Avatar
dodgetrucker75
dodgetrucker75 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: live oak, ca
Posts: 2,283
Default

the filter is on the drivers side of the engine, better get a new cable or find a way to fix it, slow cranking never helps a diesel start
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-26-2010, 01:35 PM
sbriggins
sbriggins is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Westover, AL
Posts: 9
Default Loose terminal

A loose terminal definately affects your starting, but it may not be the main issue. I recommend going to a parts store and getting the heaviest duty terminal you can get (your battery cables should be 1/0, or what the parts store will call 1 guage). If you have smaller wires going into that terminal then just crimp some small ring terminals and piece it all together.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-26-2010, 01:54 PM
Geezir
Geezir is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 351
Default

ground cable does not have a replaceable terminal on it and there isn't enough slack in the cable to cut off the OEM terminal and put an aftermarket terminal on it.

Stupid design that new vehicles come with.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2011, 12:44 AM
AngryWhiteMan
AngryWhiteMan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 21
Default

Live in Nothern Colorado Temp drops several week during the winter at night between 0 F and -10 F never had a problem starting in the morning. I always plug in my truck at night when it gets down to 20 F or lower. They mix Diesel #1 with #2 here in the winter months between Oct. and March. Fuel mileage always drops about 1 MPG cause of it. Your truck has some other problem. I run 10K Oil changes with one Oil filter change in the middle and one Fuel filter change at every Oil change. My truck doesn't fit in my gargage due to not making clearance at the door. It's 360 days 24/7 outside
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ggreekggod
Dodge Stratus
15
10-14-2015 12:25 PM
RamedHemi
Archived Classifieds
3
09-30-2015 10:40 PM
jrox44
2nd Gen Ram Tech
6
09-30-2015 11:34 AM
neown420
2nd Gen Neon
0
09-29-2015 05:15 PM
Pappy2015
Dodge Journey
2
09-24-2015 11:06 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:56 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send