Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Cummins specs, tips and tricks

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2015, 12:02 AM
The_Cummins_Guy
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cummins specs, tips and tricks

Hey y'all. Figured i visited this forum as a guest enough times that now it is time to become a part of the family. I am a certified hd diesel mechanic with several years working for Cummins. I have access to all manuals and specs. If there is anything you want to know about how your engine is supose to work or how it goes back together feel free to ask.

Old 11-14-2015, 12:10 AM
horatio102
Champion
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Ever see a 12 valve push 1+ gallon of oil out the breather? EGTs got pretty high for 10-15 seconds or so I think, maybe 1700 degrees at the manifold.

It freaked me out, I started tearing into it before trying to locate compression/leakdown gauges so no I don't know...

Head is off, pistons look pretty good, no melting, no pitting, no nothing really. Cylinder walls look pretty good, cross hatching is still pretty obvious, but I can see vertical lines here and there - not scratches you can feel though.

I haven't yet pulled the motor out, too busy with fixing other people's stuff, but I'm leaning toward rings. The head looks pretty good too. I haven't found anything that stands out as being a source of major crankcase pressure.

Old 11-14-2015, 02:50 AM
The_Cummins_Guy

Without actually seeing it its hard to really diagnose. If it happened all of a sudden i would suspect it to be your turbo oil seal. If its come on gradually it could be rings, valve guide seals or even the headgasket blew out into an oil passage. Best of luck.

Old 11-16-2015, 01:23 AM
horatio102
Champion
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hmm. Is there an easy way to test the oil seal?