Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

Fuel system questions

Old 08-17-2012, 08:35 AM
Maplehammertoe
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel system questions

Hi everyone, longtime reader, first time registrant/poster.

I just purchased my 3rd Dodge/Chrysler work van yesterday, it's a 1996 B2500 with a 5.2 318, 3 speed tranny, and 156k miles on her.

The van's engine and transmission are incredibly smooth and responsive for the year, not to mention it has a roofrack and locking boxes/shelves in the back (I'm a contractor), so I jumped on the cheap price despite noticing a few warts. I'll get seperate posts up to hopefully help with some of the other minor issues, but for now my concern is the main issue- The Fuel Pump!

When I first checked out the van, I noticed the high pitch whine of a dying fuel pump and 1/4 tank of gas. No biggie, I did one on my Chevy truck a few months ago including new lines all around. One thing I did not know at the time of purchase, however, was that Dodges seem to be extra sensitive to the effects on the fuel pump of not having enough gas in the tank to keep it cool (never had that problem that I know of).

So I drove the truck home (40 highway miles) as is, and I noticed towards the end of the trip the whine got louder, and eventually my van sputtered almost dead, as I hit the gas nothing happened except for some random banging coming from the engine, and the 'check engine' light came on. I pulled over and shut it off for a minute. I started it up and continued on my way taking it very easy for the last 10 miles on the highway. As I got off, it did it again on the offramp, and restarting did nothing, I just crawled along, the occasional bang coming from the engine for about 1/2 mile.