Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

Abs & brake warning lights

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2013, 07:02 PM
TurboRay
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow Abs & brake warning lights

Hi, I'm an ignorant newbie and YES I realize this topic has been discussed about a zillion times before, because I've searched here using numerous different criteria and have read dozens - if not 100's - of posts on the topic. I've also searched (gasp) Allpar, Dodgtalk & DodgForumz, and have read bunches of posts there as well.

Yet, even tho there seems to be a common symptom - namely, the brake and ABS warning lights come on simultaneously after a minute or so of driving (or, reaching a "threshold" speed)........I've can't find a definitive solution. I already replaced the speed sensor in the diff - which seems to be the most-commonly recommended "cure" - in spite of the fact that the speedo worked flawlessly (as it still does with the new sensor).

I've unplugged the ABS fuse at the end of the dash, but that just kept the lites on continually (as did unplugging the diff-speed sensor). The brake lights work, so the switch is okay. I tried unplugging the large underhood fuse, labeled "stop lights", without any positive results. I also unplugged the proportioning valve, but - no matter what I do - the lights initially cycle off after turning on the ignition, but pop on after a short distance while driving.

My scanner (Auto X-ray) doesn't do ABS codes, but I read that I could retrieve 'em the "old-fashioned way", by grounding pin 13 in the data-link connector and counting the ABS-light flashes. But I can't figure out which one is "pin 13", since - no matter which corner I start counting from - the thirteenth one is blank/open.

To be perfectly honest, I'm not even sure this POS has anti-lock brakes. It's a 2000 1/2-ton "conversion" van with a 5.2/318 engine. HELP!! TIA!

C'ya - RAY