Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Vans & CUVs > Dodge Sprinter
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Dodge Sprinter The Dodge Sprinter is all function, with styling cues from the Dodge Truck line, it makes the workaholic's job much easier. Check out the Dodge Sprinter in showrooms today!

Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-20-2006, 10:07 AM
kl_carroll kl_carroll is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Default Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

Has anyone had any experience with altering the Speed Limiter setting?

We just acquired two 2500 Series 158 WB sprinters, and they both are restricted to an identical top speed of 83 (indicated) MPH. In our application, even another 5 or 10 MPH would be welcome.

The dealer says it's all in the hands of the computer, and that they can't legally change it for us.

I know that the road tests done back in 2003 all seem to indicate a top end of 90; ......so this can't be an "impossible dream".

KLC
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2006, 03:37 PM
gizmo uk gizmo uk is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: May 2006
Vehicle: Merc Vito (sprinters lil bro) and its sh*t.
Location: Nottingham,England
Posts: 216
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

Cant understand that top whack,over here in the uk the merc sprinter comes with different power options,even the 311(110 bhp) is good for 110,the 130 is good for 125 indicated and the 316(158 bhp)is good for 130+!!!.I know some of the leasing companys put restrictors on for 75mph,you may have different gearing also.Maybe a european engine management unit would help.
my 2002 316cdi now has 600000 miles on it,the only thing i dislike about it is that it hates sidewinds.
__________________
http://www.beermountain.com
http://www.clubarnage.com


When i die i want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandad,
and not screaming my head off like his passengers.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2006, 03:54 PM
kl_carroll kl_carroll is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

Gizmo UK;

Thanks for the glimmer of hope! .........Perhaps you can help with another issue?

Both of our Sprinters have less than 5000 miles on them, and they have both had multiple failures relating to the Turbocharger sub-system. (Two cracked "turbo-resonators" and two leaking intercoolers.) Do the European models have a history of problems in this area?

This failure is REALLY irritating, because the computer detects the pressure loss, and drops into it's "Limp Home Mode"; ......which limits you to about 2200 rpm, a maximun of 1/4 throttle, and limited downshift capability. All of this results in a top speed of MAYBE 48 mph, if there are no hills.

I just had to drive one of these guys from West Texas to Chicago in "Limp Home Mode", because none of the dealers we tried on the road could help us: .........I still have a nervous twitch as a result! (LOL)

KLC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2006, 07:41 PM
gizmo uk gizmo uk is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: May 2006
Vehicle: Merc Vito (sprinters lil bro) and its sh*t.
Location: Nottingham,England
Posts: 216
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

No,not heard of that one,the only recall i had was problem with wiring which a simple re-route sorted,apart from consumables and a gearshift problem (worn linkage) it has been 100% reliable,i take it your trucks are automatics.I'm in for a service over the weekend,will ask the guys at merserve if they know of any problems.
__________________
http://www.beermountain.com
http://www.clubarnage.com


When i die i want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandad,
and not screaming my head off like his passengers.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2006, 11:48 PM
greasebag greasebag is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

I'd love info on this too....I make a few 200+ mile trips a week accross some empty boring roads and a few mph would make things SOOOOO much nicer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2006, 01:10 PM
gizmo uk gizmo uk is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: May 2006
Vehicle: Merc Vito (sprinters lil bro) and its sh*t.
Location: Nottingham,England
Posts: 216
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

definately a difference in gearing with your slushbox,2200rpm in 5th equates to just over 70mph on mine.Are your trucks manufactured/assembled in the US or germany.i know the gearing on the 416 (twin wheeled)is lower.you never see a sprinter over here doing less than 90 on the motorway."white van man" is something of an anti hero over here and the eurocrats are on about fitting restrictors to vans the same as they do to buses and lorrys,that will suck!
__________________
http://www.beermountain.com
http://www.clubarnage.com


When i die i want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandad,
and not screaming my head off like his passengers.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-12-2006, 09:14 PM
kl_carroll kl_carroll is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

Yeah, ………..The 80 mph governed speed was a “feature” that Dodge carefully failed to mention prior to the sale.

I tried asking all the obvious questions of the dealership, and all I got were the stock “Don’t have that information, …..Can’t be done, ……Would void the warranty” answers.

I refuse to believe that: ……..They sell too many of these to government agencies and Emergency Services.

Are there any Computer/re-programming gurus reading this??? (Many of us will pay serious money to “re-educate” the Sprinter’s computer!!)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-13-2006, 06:25 AM
gizmo uk gizmo uk is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: May 2006
Vehicle: Merc Vito (sprinters lil bro) and its sh*t.
Location: Nottingham,England
Posts: 216
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

The daft thing is the restrictors on ours (i only have expierenced once on a hired 311,110bhp)only work on 5th gear,3000rpm 75mph.leave it in 4th and you get 85.Sounds to me that the restriction on yours is a "euro" thing 83 is 130kph.
__________________
http://www.beermountain.com
http://www.clubarnage.com


When i die i want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandad,
and not screaming my head off like his passengers.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2006, 07:06 AM
kl_carroll kl_carroll is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

That 4th gear thing is REAL interesting!!! .............I never tried that!

Tomorrow (well, actually later today) I am going to have to sign out one of our Sprinters, and take it for a little 4th gear test drive!

It would be sooooo cool if one can get around the limiter that easily!!

KLC

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-13-2006, 08:04 AM
gizmo uk gizmo uk is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: May 2006
Vehicle: Merc Vito (sprinters lil bro) and its sh*t.
Location: Nottingham,England
Posts: 216
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

totalengine.co.uk do chipping kits for the sprinter with warranty,30bhp extra for the 158.The new sprinter has a V6 tdi with 184 bhp sounds like its the VW unit,will be sad to see the 5 pot go,am a big fan of that engine,have a 20 yr old Quattro with the petrol 2.2 turbo 20v 5 pot in it,still beat the crap out of it on a regular basis and it refuses to die!
more info on the new model (due here on the 18th) on mercedes-benz.co.uk.
__________________
http://www.beermountain.com
http://www.clubarnage.com


When i die i want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandad,
and not screaming my head off like his passengers.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-13-2006, 10:42 AM
gizmo uk gizmo uk is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: May 2006
Vehicle: Merc Vito (sprinters lil bro) and its sh*t.
Location: Nottingham,England
Posts: 216
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

KLC,Have spoken to my dealer,the only recalls on the euro spec Sprinter where a wiring re-route right hand drive models only,air-bag safety valve,rear brake imbalance,and dodgy tyre valve stems.No problems enginewise.Have booked a test drive in the new Sprinter,will let you know how it goes.ECU upgrades cost around £500,ECU units cost around a £1000 from M-B don't know how much that is in USD.Messing with it does invalidate the warranty,and in some cases your insurance.There is a company over here called superchips that do "undetectable" up grades so there is hope.
__________________
http://www.beermountain.com
http://www.clubarnage.com


When i die i want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandad,
and not screaming my head off like his passengers.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-19-2006, 05:37 PM
stev's Avatar
stev stev is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram Van B2500 V8 5.2L, 3.92:1, RoadMaster MKII-XXF
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,349
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

See this link for the ECU update by Mercedes Performance UK:

http://www.mercedesperformance.co.uk.../superchip.htm

Download the PDF file. The Sprinter engines are on the first page.
http://www.mercedesperformance.co.uk...eselmodels.pdf

__________________
71 Duster 340, 74 T&C 440-Interceptor, 74 Duster /6 225, 76 Aspen /6 225, 79 Volare S/6 225, 81 Pacer I6 258, 88 Colt I4, 85 Caravan 2.6L, 94 Caravan 3.0L, 96 Caravan 3.3L, 00 Ram Van B1500 3.9L, 01 Ram Van B2500 5.2L, 05 Caravan SXT 3.8L
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-23-2006, 12:50 PM
gizmo uk gizmo uk is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: May 2006
Vehicle: Merc Vito (sprinters lil bro) and its sh*t.
Location: Nottingham,England
Posts: 216
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

Those prices are +VAT @17.5%.They don't call this place treasure island for nothing,if it moves tax it,if it dos'nt give it a grant and then tax it![:@]
__________________
http://www.beermountain.com
http://www.clubarnage.com


When i die i want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandad,
and not screaming my head off like his passengers.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-23-2006, 01:04 AM
yerocniluh yerocniluh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 6
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

yes the speed limiter can be changed with the touch of a button (DRB111 that is or mercedes DAS) it's actually set at 82 mph. don't
know how fast i would want to drive that thing though.as for the turbo resonator well there are no recalls but maybe you can get a
little crafty.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-27-2006, 02:20 PM
greasebag greasebag is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

Quote:
yes the speed limiter can be changed with the touch of a button (DRB111 that is or mercedes DAS)
What is a DRB111 or DAS? I'd LOVE a few extra mph out of my sprinter. I regularly travel on a road that allows 80 to 90 mph driving and being limited 80 (80.4 from my GPS) makes it hard to pass and gets me stuck in groups of slow driving vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-02-2006, 02:41 PM
neoncrazy101 neoncrazy101 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Vehicle: 95 Plymouth Neon, 95 Jeep ZJ 5.2L, (2) 97 Neons.
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,649
Send a message via AIM to neoncrazy101
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

i know nothing about these Sprinters...except their flippin awesome but...have u checked out superchips or something to see if they have a reprogrammer for the Dodge Sprinter...also have u tried to go to a Freightliner dealership and see if they have any? probably wouldn't but i know they sell Sprinters with the Freightliner name on it...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-27-2006, 02:08 PM
Siswati Siswati is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

I have had a very good experience through Gunther Heckman at InmotionUSA
http://www.inmotionusa.com/sprintergraphs.html
You can contact him via info @ inmotionusa DOT com (remove spaces etc)

I shipped my Freightliner 2002 Sprinter ECU to him on a Monday (really easy to remove - no tools - just above drivers left knee)
He flashed it and returned that Friday (FL - Oregon - FL)

I am now able to run well in excess of 110mph and the vehicle is MUCH more responsive throughout the entire power curve

You can see my vehicle at http://www.steynfamily.com/mercedes-...rinter-van.htm
(have not added the chip info yet)

_______________
Siswati

__________________

_________________________
Siswati
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-30-2007, 08:54 PM
Monzsta Monzsta is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 16
Default RE: Overriding or reprogramming Speed Limiter???

Quote:
ORIGINAL: yerocniluh

yes the speed limiter can be changed with the touch of a button (DRB111 that is or mercedes DAS) it's actually set at 82 mph. don't
know how fast i would want to drive that thing though.as for the turbo resonator well there are no recalls but maybe you can get a
little crafty.
Wrong. We at the dealers can turn down the speed, but the software is capped at 82 mph with the DRBIII. It just won't let you enter a higher number. Sorry.
__________________
Drive it like you rented it.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 08:54 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Tags
2006, dodge, home, limiter, limp, magnum, max, mode, override, ram, reprogram, speed, sprinter, v6, van

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails