Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Cars > Dodge Stratus
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Dodge Stratus The Dodge Stratus. Whether you've got a sedan or coupe, base model or R/T, theDodge Stratus has winning looks and thrilling performance.

99 Stratus V6 Misfire Codes, Blinking CEL?

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-10-2011, 10:35 AM
tubazeppelin tubazeppelin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 24
Default 99 Stratus V6 Misfire Codes, Blinking CEL?

So I've been on here trying to solve this problem for a while...new events happened when I was driving to the beach the other day:

For a while now I'll get a misfire, it'll throw a code and set the CEL. I'll erase the code and the car will drive perfectly for a few days before setting the code again (usually after I've been at highway speeds for a while, or after I've been at highway speeds, have slowed down and have sped back up to highway speeds again).

When I was driving to the beach the other day, though, the CEL started blinking. It would blink maybe 10 or 15 times, stop for a little bit, then start again. Anyway after about 4 or 5 miles it stopped completely and after a while it just came on and stayed on like it always does. This happened on the way home from the beach as well.

I've done some reading around and the general consensus seems to be that if your CEL is blinking then you're damaging your cat pretty seriously. If you read my other posts you'll note I drove the car for a while with a leak in the EGR system...any chance that leak fouled my cat and it's just been getting worse since?
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2011, 12:08 AM
master tech's Avatar
master tech master tech is offline
Multi-section Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Vehicle: Mits P/U , Dodge avenger(1996) .
Location: San Bruno ,Ca
Posts: 10,611
Leonard Pierce
Default

Have you ck the codes yet?
__________________
Dodge Master Tech.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2011, 12:11 AM
tubazeppelin tubazeppelin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 24
Default

Ck the codes? Maybe I'm bring amateur but what does that mean?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2011, 12:19 AM
master tech's Avatar
master tech master tech is offline
Multi-section Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Vehicle: Mits P/U , Dodge avenger(1996) .
Location: San Bruno ,Ca
Posts: 10,611
Leonard Pierce
Default

No problem, When the check engine light comes on the dash. The PCM will store or have an active code for what circuit that cause the light to go on. When you have codes it helps to find the problem.
__________________
Dodge Master Tech.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2011, 12:24 AM
tubazeppelin tubazeppelin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 24
Default

I didn't know you could do that. Howe could I do it myself? Or do I need more advanced equipment?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2011, 12:25 AM
tubazeppelin tubazeppelin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 24
Default

All I've got is a basic code reader...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2011, 12:29 AM
master tech's Avatar
master tech master tech is offline
Multi-section Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Vehicle: Mits P/U , Dodge avenger(1996) .
Location: San Bruno ,Ca
Posts: 10,611
Leonard Pierce
Default

You can try to use the code reader. But you may need to have someone with a scanner to ck for codes.
__________________
Dodge Master Tech.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2011, 01:32 PM
ratsttam ratsttam is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Vehicle: 1g 2000 ES. V6 6g73 Autostick 41TE. Black Leather with Pioneer MP3/CD/Sirius
Location: Tunkhannock, PA (NEPA)
Posts: 733
Default

Your local autozone can usually read the codes too. Post what your "basic" code reader puts out. the '95 model year is the only one that used odbI, which needs special equipment, the odbII is pretty much standard, so you should be OK there.

A pretty common cause of misfire in the v6 engine is either bad spark plugs, spark plug wires. If those are new, not showing any signs of wear, another rather common thing is for oil to be seeping in around the spark plug wells, fowling up the cylinders. The front valve cover gaskets are pretty easy to get to and replace, the rear ones require the removal of the upper intake manifold, which you'll need to take off to replace the spark plugs and wires anyways.
__________________
I DO NOT RESPOND TO UNSOLICITED PRIVATE MESSAGE FOR HELP. KEEP IT IN THE FORUMS.
2000 Stratus ES /2.5l V6 AutoStick / Leather / Tint / 179,5410mi (Sold Jul, 2011)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2011, 01:41 PM
tubazeppelin tubazeppelin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 24
Default

That's not a bad idea...I took all the plugs out the other day and there was a little bit of oil in the threads of the plugs, but none seemed to be getting down to the plugs themselves. Nevertheless that's probably the culprit as I know the front valve cover gasket is shot anyway. The plugs and plug wires only have about 15k on them...not that this means they're brand new but they still look alright.

Codes I'm getting:
p0300--100% of the time
p0301, p0303, p0305, p0300--these usually show up 90% of the time
p0302, p0304, p0306--those are about 75% of the time

All these codes are consistent but it doesn't feel like the engine is missing very much. I don't really think it happens all that frequently, it just trips the code when it does happen. If it wasn't obdII I probably wouldn't even notice.

Basically it'll move around to all the cylinders but 1, 3 and 5 seem to show up more often. My uncle is a mechanic and I'm going to take it in to have him help me diagnose the problem for sure before I throw any more money at it. I've been running the car like this for months, though, so I'm pretty sure no matter what I'm going to have to replace the cat.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-15-2011, 03:07 AM
classicfan1 classicfan1 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 96
Default

Change the spark plug wires and let us know how it goes. That was the culprit on my V6 Taurus and it had the very same symptoms.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 03:07 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails