Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Cars > Dodge Stratus
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Dodge Stratus The Dodge Stratus. Whether you've got a sedan or coupe, base model or R/T, theDodge Stratus has winning looks and thrilling performance.

01 Stratus Gauges not working

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-26-2013, 03:12 PM
jslim39 jslim39 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Default 01 Stratus Gauges not working

Hi! I have a used 2001 Dodge Stratus, and I've had it for about 8 months now. When I first got it everything worked perfectly except for when I'd adjust bass or treble settings on my radio, the radio would shut off until I was done adjusting. Also, sometimes when I'd be listening to a CD, it would skip to track 99, which obviously doesn't exist.

But that was all, so I didn't think too much of it.

But on Christmas day, I went to get some gasoline, and when I turned on my car, ALL my gauges on my dashboard did not turn on, no check engine lights, battery and temeperature, oil lights, nothing. The only thing that did light up was the turn signals when I used them. I've been driving like this since then, not knowing how much gas I have, etc.

I went to an auto electric shop, and they told me to either take off the negative battery attachment, wait about 15 minutes, then put it back on and try. It worked, and I drove about 2 miles to Walmart. When I came back to leave, they didn't work again. The only other option he said was to take it to a Chrysler dealer.

So is this my only option? Is there anything else I could try? I have an upcoming road trip in a little under two months, and I'd really like to know how much gas I have, but I don't want to spend any unnecessary money on this. Help!
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2013, 04:22 PM
BillS BillS is offline
Veteran
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 470
Default

welcome have you tried taking it to autozone or advance(they read them for free) to see if there are any codes stored that might help figure out problem, have you checked ALL the fuses inside car and under hood,could be blown fuse maybe,possibly bad dash cluster,wiring ,or computer problem(ECM, body control module or transmission computer (have read that could cause dash problems sometimes)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2013, 11:19 PM
jslim39 jslim39 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Yeah the fuses look fine, I've checked a couple times. A buddy whose quite electronic smart thinks it's a loose wire, but we couldn't get the dashboard apart to check. I have an OReilly's who does free computer scans so I guess I'll try that soon maybe before taking it to a dealer.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 11:19 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:19 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2