Dodge Stratus The Dodge Stratus. Whether you've got a sedan or coupe, base model or R/T, theDodge Stratus has winning looks and thrilling performance.

AC High Side Service Port Leak

Old 06-03-2015, 11:28 AM
TZFBird
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AC High Side Service Port Leak

2000 Stratus with the 2.5.

AC went out so I filled it up to check for leaks. After I got half a can in I found that there was oil coming out of the High Pressure serivce port. Tried reseating the ball a few times but each time the leak got worse. Oil stopped coming out but it was eventually a leak so bad I could hear it even with the hood closed. So the system is now empty again.
I'll be ordering a new Discharge hose and Dryer from Rockauto. Parts stores around here don't even offer the discharge hose. Does anyone know if a new hose will come with the associated O-rings/seals or should I plan on buying a complete system kit just in case?
This is my first time working on any Air Conditioning but I'm glad I got off easy with an obvious leak right out of the gate.

Last edited by TZFBird; 06-03-2015 at 11:31 AM.
Old 06-18-2015, 02:33 PM
TZFBird
Professional

Turns out I ordered the low side(suction) hose. High side(discharge) will show up today. Also picked up a reciever/dryer and O-ring kit just in case it doesn't hold vacuum and I need to replace some.

The High Side service port seems to have a check ball in it that is just an air filled rubber ball. It was split and allowed the refrigerant out. So I'm guessing a new one could be pressed into the port but I'll have to do some disassembly when the hose is changed out and the wife has AC again.

Old 06-19-2015, 09:02 PM
newtome96stratus
Default get a valve core wrench