General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Oxygen Sensor Location?

Old 02-11-2005, 12:00 PM
rpowers301
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oxygen Sensor Location?

I am far from a mechanic, but I am going to attempt to change my oxygen sensor. My Dodge has been getting poor gas mileage and missing while idling expecially. I hooked it up to a scanner and found that I need to replace my upstream oxygen sensor. I purchased one at Advance Auto.

I own a 99 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab 5.9 360.

Can someone give me the location of both oxygen sensors? And describe which one is which? Am I going to have to take the manifold off?

Also, my catlytic converter has been rodded out. Is this going to affect the performance of the oxygen sensor?

Now that I am posting. I may as well ask one more question:

The scanner also told me that I need to replace an ABS sensor. However, it didnt' say which one. Does this truck have 4 or just two in the front? And where exactly are they and how hard are they to replace?

Thanks in Advance for your Help.

Ron in Powhattan, VA

Old 02-12-2005, 01:38 AM
justaocboy
Default RE: Oxygen Sensor Location?

ok,your upstream 02 sensor is before the cat,your downstream 02 sensor is after your cat.
yes your cat beeing rodded does make a difference the 2 02 sensor compare readings to tell how much the cat is working.
what sensor does the scanner say?you probably have rwal abs (rear wheel anti lock).
02s are simple to do just get out the creeper!

Old 02-12-2005, 02:39 AM
P.B.
Rookie