Neon SRT-4 Dodge Neon SRT-4 is the pocket rocket that took the import scene and turned it upside down.

05 SRT4 - Doesn't move

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2012, 03:54 PM
mgannon93
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 SRT4 - Doesn't move

Hi,
I'm new to Dodge cars but just picked up a 05 Neon SRT-4 that I traded for a bike. The car is NICE, the only problem? It doesn't move, not forward or backwards. It is a manual transmission. It will go into every single gear but nothing happens.

According to the kid we bought it from, he was driving it, and in third gear it just came out of gear and was like it was in neutral and it never moved again.

I am researching as much as I can on the internet trying to find similar problems and what it could be, but I was wondering if anyone had any prior experience with something like this or any links to more information that could help?

I am thinking about pulling a used transmission and trying that but I would like to rule out other options if possible before dumping too much money into this car.

Thanks!

Old 07-11-2012, 07:53 PM
peelerboy

Need a little more information here. First off, can we assume that it runs?...but just won't engage a gear and move? Does the clutch pedal have normal resistance? Does it grind when you put it in first gear?...or any gear? Did you attempt to move it in a gear other than first or reverse? What does it do when you do this?...does it just free rev like the axles are gone? More details, man! Would love to help!!

Dale

Old 07-11-2012, 11:09 PM
mgannon93

Originally Posted by peelerboy
Need a little more information here. First off, can we assume that it runs?...but just won't engage a gear and move? Does the clutch pedal have normal resistance? Does it grind when you put it in first gear?...or any gear? Did you attempt to move it in a gear other than first or reverse? What does it do when you do this?...does it just free rev like the axles are gone? More details, man! Would love to help!!