whats reflash mean!? - DodgeForum.com



Neon SRT-4 Dodge Neon SRT-4 is the pocket rocket that took the import scene and turned it upside down.

whats reflash mean!?

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-29-2007, 02:08 AM
SMTYLEZ SMTYLEZ is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Default whats reflash mean!?

what does reflashing your car do for you? whats the purpose?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2007, 03:58 AM
PSI Chick PSI Chick is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 4,361
Default RE: whats reflash mean!?

you can't do it on our cars so there's no reason to even ask.

but just to tell you, on cars where it can be done, you can reflash the stock ecu to function as a stand alone. you can tune fuel trims, timing, spark, and just about anything else you want.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2007, 04:27 AM
motorboy1 motorboy1 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 194
Default RE: whats reflash mean!?

That sux you can't do it on ours! You think they designed it that way for a reason?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2007, 12:24 PM
SRT_YA SRT_YA is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Michigan - Arctic North
Posts: 1,458
Default RE: whats reflash mean!?

Not to disagree with PSI Chick, buttechnically you can reflash the ECU / PCM... but not unless you have access to certain program files or certain hardware... (IBOX, ETAS, ATI) ... so to the "everyday user" the answer is "NO" (Just like Amy said)... but technically you can reflash them... if you don't have access to the correct files, software, and/or hardware - you shouldn't be screwing with your cars computer heck, I have access to that stuff and I don't even want to think about screwing with the look up tables / etc. in there!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2007, 03:05 PM
PSI Chick PSI Chick is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 4,361
Default RE: whats reflash mean!?

well i didn't mean to make it sound like it can't be done, because it can and i know people who have, but dcx doesn't allow it so hence it can't be done. dcx has copywrited the files on our ecu's to not allow reflash programers to use them as standalones. if we had the ability to do that openly then there would be no point in stage kits. no dcx car can legally be relfashed to function as a standalone. a few places have started to offer this service to people and dcx sues them almost immedietly lol. i know of people that have cracked the ecu and relfash theirs on a regualr basis to retune, but they will not do it for others due to legal reasons.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2007, 04:08 PM
SRT_YA SRT_YA is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Michigan - Arctic North
Posts: 1,458
Default RE: whats reflash mean!?

you are right. and I knew what you meant ;-)
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transmission software reflash Dark Angel 2008 - Current Dodge Avenger 5 11-24-2007 01:38 PM
ECU Reflash? Kalevra 2nd Gen Neon 20 10-15-2007 02:20 AM
ECU REFLASH BLKSRT4 Neon SRT-4 6 08-29-2007 10:16 PM
pcm reflashed!? SMTYLEZ Neon SRT-4 3 07-20-2007 04:29 PM
Where can I get PCM reflashed? StupidSRTGuy Neon SRT-4 8 10-01-2006 11:26 AM


Tags
reflash

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 PM.