New Member Area New to DF? Stop in tell us about yourself and your ride. Please post technical questions in the tech sections.

new guy from Indiana

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2016, 04:08 AM
JOEC3082
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new guy from Indiana

Hey fellas. I'm excited to join this forum and learn all i can to get this recently bought 97 Dakota running again.

I have little to no experience with vehicles. None with Dakotas

My buddy made me an offer i couldn't refuse and i needed a project so i gladly accepted. It's a 97 dodge dakota. But i was told it had the engine from a 98 r/t, the 5.9L. It was running when i got it. Not great but running. It also came with an after market remote starter that i was told was disabled but you could see it hanging under driver side dash.

I had previously joined a diff fourm seeking help but i forget which forum it was. I needed help cause evry time i opened the door to get in, the headlights would flash, security light would flash and she wouldnt start. I learned i had tripped the factory security system which in turn cuts out the fuel pump. So i was told to turn the key to the lock position in the door twice quickly and then to the left quickly to disarm security. That didnt work.

So for some odd ball reason i decided to uninstall the remote starter. Which i just did to the best of my knowledge.

Then i thought id try the key trick in passenger door and of course it worked lol. Imagine that.