Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

DIY: Transmission Work NV5600

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2007, 10:45 PM
R0oster31
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY: Transmission Work NV5600

Doing transmission work on an NV 5600 is no simple task and I am no expert, but will do my best to describe the work that I performed. The first step is to get the transmission out of the truck.
I have a 4X4 so if you have a 2 wheel drive model it will be a little easier. As always safety is the most important thing, so first thing is to disconnect the negative terminals of the batteries (you will be removing the starter and don’t want anything to turn over should you bump something). First you have to remove everything that is connected to, or will get in the way of the transmission. These things include, shift tower, starter, clutch release cylinder, reverse sensor wires, driveshafts (front and rear), transfer case linkage, vacuum lines, and suspension cross member. I recommend using plastic bags for nuts and bolts to keep them separate and make it easy to put back together.
Most of the stuff is metric, but I used both metric and standard sizes, just using which ever one fit tighter. I also recommend 6 point whenever you can use it. To remove the shift tower you will probably have to remove your center console. To do this you will have to remove a couple screws. You will have to remove the boots on the two shift sticks. The transfer case shifter just snaps into place and the main stick boot bolts into place. If you lift the bottom wrinkle, you will be able to see those bolts.
Name:  1.jpg
Views: 9149
Size:  28.0 KB