2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Gen light... Please help

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2016, 06:07 PM
Mechanical_Tree
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gen light... Please help

Hi guys havent been on in a while. Im having problems and need help. Im a mechanic a diesel tech. So im not clueless however im having problems and was hoping for help. my 97 dodge ram 2500 gas truck Gen light came on. And i road around a few days. Eventually truck died. I popped hood and fixed a loose ground. Got a jump and fired up. Light kept coming on and truck would stall. Checked grounds seem good. Pulled battery and alternator took to autozone. Battery started fuzzing out everywhere when they tried to charge it. The alternator tested good. Bought a new battery popped it in with old alternator that tested good. Next day light comes back on. I pop hood. Check my battery cables and ground on fender. All is tight. The truck hasnt died because tge bwttery is brand new. Today my blinkers stopped working. My voltage on dash was either low or not showing. I turn truck off and pop start (norm takes a few minuted for light to reapear when i do this) this time light doesnt come back on and dash starts reading. 14 volts again and my blinkers start wotking. All other dash lights and gauges work.
Why is this happening???
every day my ride to work or home is russian roulette wondering if tge nrw battery will drain.
i havent put a meter on my alternator to see what it was kicking out fot volts but autozone tested it.
do i have another loose ground?
Is my computer bad?

Old 12-08-2016, 06:33 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,176 Likes on 2,929 Posts