1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

newbie to Dakota: will I like the 1995 in snow?

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2007, 01:27 PM
luckydodge
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie to Dakota: will I like the 1995 in snow?

I have a steep, straight, concrete driveway which is a real pain in these PA winters. My 'winter car' finally died this year and I need to replace it.

I have zero knowledge and very little experience with pickups. I found a 1995 Dakota 4x4 regular cab with a 5.2L and cap and it looks like it has full power including AC. they want 4K for it with 142K and KBB said that's about right. From the pics online it looks like it's in good shape but of course they all do until you get there lol

So, being a newbie to pickups, and more specifically Dakotas, I wanted to find out if there are any 'unique' issues to this truck that I should be on the look out when inspecting it. Not being too mechanically inclined i will be taking any vehicle to my local mechanic to check out of course. And I will be looking through these forums as well. Is 142K at an end point for this vehicle or are they known for piling on the miles if well maintained? My winter car went until 337K so I admit I'm spoiled by long lasting vehicles.

But I need something to get up this steep driveway and saw this for sale and thought it would make a good snow vehicle. Any info you can provide would be appreciated, no detail is too small.

Old 08-20-2007, 02:51 PM
OneBadKota
All Star
Default RE: newbie to Dakota: will I like the 1995 in snow?

Welcome.

The real main issue I've ever come across on them is the water pump. I personally only had to replace the radiator in mine for the 140k miles it had the stock motor. 142k is just breaking it in, lol. I've seen plenty well over 300k.