DodgeForum.com

DodgeForum.com (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/)
-   1st Gen Dakota Tech (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/1st-gen-dakota-tech-66/)
-   -   No start, no spark, no fuel, heeeeeeeeelp!! (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/1st-gen-dakota-tech/412597-no-start-no-spark-no-fuel-heeeeeeeeelp.html)

Azboyinmi 03-11-2018 09:41 PM

No start, no spark, no fuel, heeeeeeeeelp!!

Ok so I'm new to 1st Gen daks. Mines a 93, 4x4 auto, with a 5.2. believe it or not I just bought it out of a field for 500 bucks. It's in ok shape. So the guy I bought it from had parked it due to a bad brake line. He started it every 2 weeks for about 6 months. He went about 2 months without starting it and went to start it again and nothing. So I know the ign coil is bad, no biggie got another, still wouldn't start. So I'm looking on the forums and see the whole spliced wires thing. I slice open my crusty harness and the splice is good, 3 wires into 1, all good. Read someone said there's supposed to be 4 wires but I didn't find a loose 4th wire anywhere, checked all the relays and, etc, all good. Terminals have power under the relays. Still no fuel pump coming on, still no spark. So I go to check my codes. No check engine light. Bulbs still good. Also pulled my crank position sensor, whole end of it was caked with grease. Cleaned it, checked it with multi meter, it's still good. Put it back in the truck still no dice. Any ideas

volaredon 03-12-2018 11:02 PM

you say "I splice into my crusty harness"..... I would continue checking that out...... being from a field you mightfind some chewed off connectors.

Azboyinmi 03-13-2018 02:24 PM

...crusty

Crusty was in reference too the mud and dried up tape that Dodge had it wrapped with. Inside the harness was surprisingly clean. All the wires are still pretty flexible not stiff. Nothing's chewed up. It looks pretty good

Moparite 03-13-2018 08:16 PM

See if the pcm is turning on the asd relay. It needs to be on to get power to the coil and fuel pump.