1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

Leaking coolant and wobbly crankshaft

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2018, 07:56 PM
Unclebuck916
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Leaking coolant and wobbly crankshaft

So unfortunately im back seeking advice a lot sooner than i was hoping. Today when i pulled into my house i noticed coolant leaking. I popped the hood and there was coolant splattered all over the place. I let it cool down then refilled with coolant and started it up and let it get to temp. I checked for leaks and didnt notice any now. I let it run for a good ten mins and it appeared to not be leaking anymore. I did notice that my crankshaft pulley is pretty wobbly and making a little noise. Could these problems be related? What do i do? Where do i start? I'm no mechanic by any stretch of the word but i do have some basic knowledge and im fairly mechanically inclined but i will get lost in some automotive lingo if its not every day stuff. Thanks in advance for any and all responses.

Last edited by Unclebuck916; 05-27-2018 at 07:57 PM. Reason: Typo
Old 05-27-2018, 09:44 PM
RalphP
Champion
Received 368 Likes on 340 Posts

They can be related; but may be completely independent.

Step 1 - Borrow a pressure tester, pressure test the cooling system to find out where it's leaking.

Step 2- Buy a NEW harmonic balancer, and plan on replacing it.

If Step 1 says the water pump is leaking, consider if you want to do the timing chain also while it's partway there. If not, then drain the system, replace the leaking bits, and while the radiator is out, do the harmonic balancer. Don't forget to replace the front crank seal while the balancer is out to avoid an oil leak on the new one.