Coolant temp. sensor causing erratic idle? - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Dakota > 1st Gen Dakota
Reload this Page > Coolant temp. sensor causing erratic idle?
Notices
1st Gen Dakota '96 & Older Dakota's

Coolant temp. sensor causing erratic idle?

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 04-30-2009, 11:04 PM
Coadster
Coadster is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 70
Default Coolant temp. sensor causing erratic idle?

As most of you may know, I've been having a few issue with my 95' kota. Heres the jist of it - It idles fine for about 3 or 4 minutes, then the rpm's start to drop, then it will go back up, then drop really low, then go back up and continues this cycle. If I rev it a bit, when it comes down it will go down almost to the point of stalling then go back to normal - and continue the surging process. Im thinking because its fine when its cold, and then all whacked when its warm, that it it probably this sensor. I checked and it threw a '22' code, which is 'coolant temp sensor out of range'. Im going to replace it tomorrow, reset the computer, and pray that it was the problem. Can anyone shine some light on this? Anybody else have this problem? If this doesnt fix it, I'll try replacing the IAC. But, hopefully I wont have to.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2009, 12:07 PM
RockGuardedDak's Avatar
RockGuardedDak
RockGuardedDak is offline
All Star
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 841
Default

Originally Posted by Coadster View Post
As most of you may know, I've been having a few issue with my 95' kota. Heres the jist of it - It idles fine for about 3 or 4 minutes, then the rpm's start to drop, then it will go back up, then drop really low, then go back up and continues this cycle. If I rev it a bit, when it comes down it will go down almost to the point of stalling then go back to normal - and continue the surging process. Im thinking because its fine when its cold, and then all whacked when its warm, that it it probably this sensor. I checked and it threw a '22' code, which is 'coolant temp sensor out of range'. Im going to replace it tomorrow, reset the computer, and pray that it was the problem. Can anyone shine some light on this? Anybody else have this problem? If this doesnt fix it, I'll try replacing the IAC. But, hopefully I wont have to.
im pretty sure that the IAC and TPS are pretty cheap and easy to replace, so if i were you, i would replace all 3 of them. its sounding alot like the TPS to me, but ive been wrong too many times to say for sure lol.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2009, 10:17 PM
Coadster
Coadster is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 70
Default

Well, I replaced the sensor. And guess what? She runs like a top now, Idles flawlessley. It still confuses me how the cooling system affects the idling.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-02-2009, 10:06 AM
kahanabob
kahanabob is offline
Captain
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 582
Default

It's the computer dealing with a bad sensor.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2009, 01:14 AM
ModT
ModT is offline
Professional
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 215
Default

My truck is doing the same thing, I replaced the TPS and its still doing it. Did you replace the IAC or something else?
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2009, 10:58 AM
RockGuardedDak's Avatar
RockGuardedDak
RockGuardedDak is offline
All Star
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 841
Default

Originally Posted by ModT View Post
My truck is doing the same thing, I replaced the TPS and its still doing it. Did you replace the IAC or something else?
he changed the coolant temp sensor
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-04-2009, 03:28 PM
ModT
ModT is offline
Professional
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 215
Default

So the coolant temp sensor is different from the IAC?
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-04-2009, 10:03 PM
Crazy4x4RT's Avatar
Crazy4x4RT
Crazy4x4RT is offline
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NM
Posts: 10,869
Default

IAC Intake Air Charge. It takes the incoming air temperature. There are 2 coolant sensors. 1 for the computer with 2 wires. 1 with 1 wire for the guage. The are located on both sides of the hemostat housing.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-04-2009, 10:22 PM
95_318SLT's Avatar
95_318SLT
95_318SLT is offline
Champion
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 4,842
Default

I was just reading this post and am very confused... What IAC are you talking about Crazy? The only thing I know of that is called IAC is the Idle Air Controller. There is an Intake Manifold Air Temperature sensor... is this the one you're talking about?

 

Last edited by 95_318SLT; 05-04-2009 at 10:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-04-2009, 10:55 PM
Crazy4x4RT's Avatar
Crazy4x4RT
Crazy4x4RT is offline
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NM
Posts: 10,869
Default

I guess I just wasn't paying attention. I was just thinking of sensors and just didn't think of the Idle air control. But the Intake manifold air temperature sensor is what I was talking about. There are several types of names for lots of these things. Here is autozone's page with it called Air charge temperature sensor. I just added the Intake because that is where is located. http://www.autozone.com/autozone/cat...entId=cat10014
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
m0rb02
Dodge Caravan
2
04-19-2016 03:06 PM
Mithril
Dodge/Ram Diesel
14
10-24-2015 05:33 PM
Crytot
1st Gen Dakota
5
07-13-2015 05:26 PM
gibsilver20
2nd Gen Ram Tech
9
07-10-2015 10:03 AM
ydde1937
Dodge Caravan
0
07-06-2015 09:00 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:46 AM.