Will these tires fit? - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Dakota > 1st Gen Dakota
Reload this Page > Will these tires fit?
Notices
1st Gen Dakota '96 & Older Dakota's

Will these tires fit?

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 09-27-2010, 04:33 PM
matt0852
matt0852 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 62
Default Will these tires fit?

Hey guys, ran into a bit of tire trouble and ended up with a slash in my sidewall. Seeing as my tires were just about to be changed anyway I figured I'd just go ahead and buy all four. Now here's the question, I have 215/75/15 Firestone passenger tires on there right now. I want to go bigger and I found Goodyear Tracker 2 at Walmart 235/75/15 and was wondering how clearance would be. Int he FAQ2 I know it says they'll fit but my truck does sit lower in the front. what I call squatting haha. Anyone have these? It's stock height by the way and 2x4. Another concern is Walmart. Are they guinna give me a hard time since they're not stock size? I remember my dad got tires there once and they wouldn't put them on because they were bigger than the stock size. Thanks for any input.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2010, 04:56 PM
Crazy4x4RT's Avatar
Crazy4x4RT
Crazy4x4RT is offline
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NM
Posts: 10,869
Default

Using a tire calculator like this one. http://www.4lo.com/calc/gearmetric.htm

Says your stock tire is 27.7 x 8.5in.
And the 235 is 28.9 x 9.3.
So that is 1.2in x .8

Get a tape measure and add .6in above the tire and see if you got the space. And see if you got .4in on the inside of the tire.

My guess you could easily fit even larger tires.

As far as Walmart not letting you get larger tire, I'm not sure. It does sound like something they might say, due to them not wanting to be liable for going beyond stock requirements.

There are tons of tire shops you can go to that WIll get what you want.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2010, 05:15 PM
festerw's Avatar
festerw
festerw is offline
Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 447
Default

You should be alright getting them mounted there as it was a stock size on the 4x4's and they just seem to look at overall model lines.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2010, 10:44 PM
fox's Avatar
fox
fox is offline
Veteran
Join Date: May 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 461
Default

What a stupid policy from wal-fart. If you have too just buy the tires from them and have them mounted at a different tire shop.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2010, 07:02 AM
matt0852
matt0852 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 62
Default

Thanks for the help guys, much appreciated! I was thinking that as well fox! and Crazy 4x4 thanks for that calculator. I'll try it once I get home today. I hope you're right festerw. It would make it more convenient for me.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2010, 04:52 PM
luthoro's Avatar
luthoro
luthoro is offline
Professional
Join Date: May 2010
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 153
Default

Yeah, they will fit fine on a 2wd. I have 235-75-15 Trail Guide A/P tires on mine.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2010, 04:37 PM
Deerkiller9991's Avatar
Deerkiller9991
Deerkiller9991 is offline
Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 328
Default

Originally Posted by luthoro View Post
Yeah, they will fit fine on a 2wd. I have 235-75-15 Trail Guide A/P tires on mine.
Do you have the stock 15x6 rims? I do and I want to go buy bigger tires that what I have on the back but with the 6" rim, whats the biggest I should go? I already have some 30x9.5x15's on their but the tires I want are only 31x10.50x15's

any tips/ideas?
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-30-2010, 04:30 PM
luthoro's Avatar
luthoro
luthoro is offline
Professional
Join Date: May 2010
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 153
Default

Yeah, they are on the stock 15x6 alloys.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2010, 08:05 PM
melodytoinvent's Avatar
melodytoinvent
melodytoinvent is offline
Captain
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 505
Default

Wal-Mart is dumb like that for liability reasons like Crazy said, but they put my 31s on with no problem. They just had to check if they'd rub first. They do lol but they didnt put em on and drive it so yeah.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
COYOTE102076
2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech
13
07-08-2017 07:06 PM
bcassner
Dodge Caravan
1
05-20-2016 09:00 PM
shanes76
3rd Gen Ram Tech
17
09-11-2015 07:44 AM
Bansheeman6100
2nd Gen Ram Tech
4
09-09-2015 02:20 PM
shanes76
3rd Gen Ram Tech
2
09-03-2015 08:12 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:34 AM.