1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

Axle Swap Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2015, 07:10 PM
dugan.andrew97
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Axle Swap Questions

Alright Guys so I have a 1990 Dakota that was originally a 2.5: 5 speed truck. I swapped a 5.2L and a 5 speed in it now. So i just kept the Chrysler 7.25 rear end in there for a while and its really been holding up great, i've even changed the gear oil and everything is looking good but i cant rely on it all the time and the aftermarket isnt very large for it.. anyway I found a Chrysler 8.25 rear on a 1989 Dakota and i had to ****** it up. Now comes the problem... The 8.25 sat under the leaf springs and the 7.25 sits on top of the leafs.. Im trying to lower the truck and I need the axle to sit on top of the leafs so i would appreciate a solution (as cheap as possible because i am a college student) and as for my next question is will i need to shorten the drive shaft? im assuming i will but if i dont have to then ill avoid it. Thanks guys

Old 12-14-2015, 01:43 AM
ragged89
All Star
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Dugan, sounds like the 8.25 you found came off a 4WD Dakota. If I'm not mistaken, the axle fits on top of the springs on a 2WD Dak with the 8.25 rear. If you have a friend that welds, the spring perch can be relocated from the top of the axle to the bottom. You might need to do something similar to the shock mounts, I can't recall how they're different between 2WD and 4WD right now. You also might be able to use leaf hanger extensions to let the leaf springs sit higher on the frame. That might require flipping one the leaf spring mounts. I'm just throwing these thoughts out there at the moment 'cause I know how the 4WD is setup, but don't recall the 2WD setup.