Bolt on hp - DodgeForum.com

1st Gen Dakota '96 & Older Dakota's

Bolt on hp

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 10-23-2017, 05:14 AM
Mopardaokta
Mopardaokta is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 12
Default Bolt on hp

Hey guy, so I got a 93 Dakota with the 5.2 in it. Does anyone know some good bolt on add to i can do to give my truck more hp. I already have a mopar performance computer in it and a larger air filter. Also msd wires and distributor cap. Also how hard would it be to install a slap shifter in it and get red of the gear shifter on the steering column
 

Last edited by Mopardaokta; 10-23-2017 at 05:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2017, 10:28 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 46,231
Default

Headers, free-flowing exhaust, is about it. Beyond that, you need to start getting into the motor......
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2017, 02:41 PM
93 ragtop
93 ragtop is offline
All Star
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Va
Posts: 793
Default

May consider a set of 1.7 roller rockers.... But FWIW, real power gains are going to be in the heads and cam. Or increase displacement. IMO none of the manufactures leave much easy hp on the plate to be gained with bolt on's......
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2017, 05:15 PM
Mopardaokta
Mopardaokta is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 12
Default

I thought about that but i dont know what else I would have to replace. I'm still pretty much i newb. Everything I done to it now I was walked threw with a very knowledgeable guy but he's moved out of state so it just threads and YouTube now. I also thought about a turbo but I heard the computer has to be reprogrammed and since my truck doesn't have the plug in under the steering column I don't know how to go about doing it
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-23-2017, 08:44 PM
jkeaton's Avatar
jkeaton
jkeaton is offline
Site Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 20,975
Default

Turbo will cost you thousands of dollars to do it right. Just drive the thing. It's a truck, not a race car.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-23-2017, 11:05 PM
Mopardaokta
Mopardaokta is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 12
Default

It might but at the same time I'm looking more for the experience at doing it myself than taking it to a shop. Like I said earlier everything done to this truck I did my self which consist of pulling the engine, stripping it down to just the block, cleaning everything, painting it and putting it back in. Once I get another car which should be soon, it's going to be my toy for fun which is one of the reason I thought about trying a turbo on it,. I hope you don't take me for being rude, I'm just trying to explain my reasoning for everything.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-23-2017, 11:20 PM
jkeaton's Avatar
jkeaton
jkeaton is offline
Site Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 20,975
Default

No. That's cool. Glad you are learning things on your own. A turbo can be done, but as stated, it's expensive to do it right.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:41 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: