1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Which shift kit?

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2012, 10:49 PM
RollerRed
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which shift kit?

So just wanting to upgrade because I can...
First question:Is there any way to tell if you have a shift kit already installed?
Second:Which is the best/easiest to install? Would prefer a auto shift option...
Third:whill this help the trans last longer? I don't have any problems at all, pulls great and can chirp the tires all day long no worries. Do need the belt and fluid/filter done here soon though...
Thanks in advance guys.

Old 05-02-2012, 11:46 PM
aDinBaja

I have no experience with them but after a lot of research for the 44RE I would give this ones a try...

http://www.performancetransparts.com...ctionkit6.aspx
http://transmissiontechnologies.com/...-chrysler.aspx
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/TRG-TF-2/

To me they look better than the TransGo Jr Kit and there is not much difference in price.

If you want to take it a step further go with this one

http://transgoonline.com/products.ph...dcountview=Yes
http://www.performancetransparts.com...gtfod-hd2.aspx

it is about $110 and comes complete with new aftermarket governor and accumulator springs and some other stuff. I´ve seen different pieces displayed in the pics so you might want to check what´s included before ordering.

You should see the TransGo Assistance Video it is a bit old and all over the place but is very interesting and will open your eyes to what a shift kit does and some how to install guidance as well. http://transgoonline.com/TFOD_HD2Video.html

I might have another video, I´ll try to look for it and post later.

Good luck and let us know!

Last edited by aDinBaja; 05-03-2012 at 12:39 AM. Reason: type errors and missing info
Old 05-03-2012, 12:52 AM
RollerRed
Veteran

WHEEW! Just watched the video and that is way to much for me. Id have to have a shop do it just incase I screw it up!